Lawson and Dotson named to USBWA All-District VI Team

ST. LOUIS – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson and freshman Devon Dotson have been named to the 2019 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VI Team with Lawson earning the district’s player of the year, the USBWA announced Tuesday.
This is the third-straight year a Jayhawk has been named the USBWA District VI Player of the Year as Devonte’ Graham was last year’s recipient and Frank Mason III the 2017 honoree. Mason went on to win the 2017 Oscar Robertson Trophy, the USBWA’s national player of the year award.
Voted on by the 900-plus USBWA membership, the USBWA District VI includes NCAA Division I players from the states of Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. The 2019 USBWA District VI Team, consisting of 11 players, includes seven players from the Big 12 Conference.
A Naismith Trophy semifinalist and named to the Wooden Award Final Ballot, Lawson has posted four straight double-doubles after his 23 points and 14 rebounds against Baylor (3/9) in the regular-season finale. The Memphis, Tennessee, forward leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.1 ppg, rebounding at 10.6 rpg and with 20 double-doubles, which ranks tied for sixth nationally. The Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and All-Big 12 First Team selection, Lawson has 15 games of 20 or more points and he is the only player in the league averaging a double-double. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 33 blocked shots and his 1.1 blocks per game are fifth in the conference. Lawson is 10th in the Big 12 with a 49.1 field goal percentage.
A native of Charlotte, North Carolina, Dotson averaged 12.3 ppg, 3.9 rpg, 3.8 apg and 1.3 spg in Big 12 play. An All-Big 12 Third Team honoree and member of the Big 12 All-Freshman Team, Dotson ranks 15th in the Big 12 in scoring (11.7), seventh in assists (3.5), 12th in field goal percentage (47.6), eighth in steals (1.4) and eighth in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.4).
PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Dedric Lawson, Kansas
COACH OF THE YEAR – Bruce Weber, Kansas State
Ty-Shon Alexander, Creighton
Barry Brown, Kansas State
Tyler Cook, Iowa
Mike Daum, South Dakota State
Devon Dotson, Kansas
Christian James, Oklahoma
Dedric Lawson, Kansas
Nick McGlynn, Drake
James Palmer, Nebraska
Marial Shayok, Iowa State
Dean Wade, Kansas State 
@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.