Lawson named Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award finalist

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of five finalists for the 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.
Joining Lawson as finalists for the 2019 Karl Malone Award are Zion Williamson (Duke), PJ Washington (Kentucky), Mike Daum (South Dakota State) and Grant Williams (Tennessee).
Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.0 ppg, rebounding at 10.5 rpg and with 19 double-doubles. A national player of the year and All-American candidate, the Memphis, Tennessee, forward has 14 games of 20 or more points and his 19 double-doubles and are tied for sixth nationally. Lawson is the only player in the league averaging a double-double. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 30 blocked shots and his 1.0 blocks per game are fifth in the conference. His 49.3 field goal percentage is ninth in the league.
The winner of the 2019 Karl Malone Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles on Friday, April 12, 2019, along with the other four members of the Naismith Starting 5. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Additional information about the telecast will be released by ESPN at a later date.
Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015). Kansas’ Perry Ellis was a two-time finalist for the honor in 2015 and 2016.
For more information and the latest updates on the 2019 Karl Malone Award, log onto and follow @hoophall and #MaloneAward on Twitter and Instagram.
Dedric Lawson 2018-19 Honors
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalist (1 of 5)
Naismith Trophy Semifinalist (1 of 10)
Naismith Trophy Midseason Team (1 of 30)
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Watch List (1 of 10)
Oscar Robertson Trophy Final Midseason Watch List (1 of 12)
The Sporting News Midseason All-America First Team
Wooden Award Midseason Watch List (1 of 25)
3x Big 12 Player of the Week (11.12, 11.26, 12.26)
5x Big 12 Newcomer of the Week (12.2, 12.17, 1.14, 1.28, 2.11)
Oscar Robertson Midseason Watch List (1 of 20)
NIT Season Tip-Off Most Valuable Player
Wooden Award Preseason Watch List (1 of 50)
NABC Player of the Year candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason Associated Press All-America
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason All-Big 12 First Team
@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.