Lawson named to Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

ATLANTA – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of 30 men’s basketball players to the Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team competing to receive the 51st Citizen Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tip Off Club announced Wednesday. Lawson is vying to become the third Jayhawk to win the Naismith Trophy with Danny Manning claiming the honor in 1988 and Frank Mason III last season in 2017.
Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.4 points per game and rebounding with a 10.6 average. The Memphis, Tennessee native has five double-doubles in his last eight games and is the only player in the Big 12 averaging a double-double. Lawson has a Big 12-leading 16 double-doubles for the season, which is tied for third nationally.
On most every national player of the year watch lists and a Sporting News Midseason All-America First Team selection, Lawson has scored 20 or more points in 13 games this season, including four of the last seven contests. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 28 blocked shots and his 1.1 blocks per game are fifth in the conference and his 50.6 field goal percentage is also fifth.
From this list for the Naismith Trophy, 10 semifinalists will be revealed on March 6, and only those 10 players are eligible for the group of four finalists, which will be released on March 17. Fans, once again, will be able to vote for their favorite player by visiting between March 22-April 3 to cast their ballot, and the fan component counts for five percent of the overall final vote. The 51st Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 7 in Minneapolis, during the NCAA Men’s Final Four.
Overall, the midseason team represents twelve conferences with the ACC leading the way with seven players, followed closely by the BIG EAST and the Big Ten with four each.
Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Nickeil Alexander-Walker So. G Virginia Tech ACC
R.J. Barrett Fr. F Duke ACC
Phil Booth Sr. G Villanova BIG EAST
Ignas Brazdeikis Fr. F Michigan Big Ten
Jordan Caroline Sr. G/F Nevada Mountain West
Brandon Clarke Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Chris Clemons Sr. G Campbell Big South
Jarrett Culver So. G Texas Tech Big 12
Jarron Cumberland Jr. G Cincinnati AAC
Mike Daum Sr. F South Dakota St. Summit League
Carsen Edwards Jr. G Purdue Big Ten
Kyle Guy Jr. G Virginia ACC
Rui Hachimura Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Ethan Happ Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Markus Howard Jr. G Marquette BIG EAST
De’Andre Hunter So. G Virginia ACC
Cameron Johnson Sr. G North Carolina ACC
Caleb Martin Sr. F Nevada Mountain West
C.J. Massinburg Sr. G Buffalo MAC
Luke Maye Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Ja Morant So. G Murray State OVC
Eric Paschall Sr. F Villanova BIG EAST
Shamorie Ponds Jr. G St. John’s BIG EAST
Admiral Schofield Sr. G Tennessee SEC
Marial Shayok Sr. G Iowa State Big 12
P.J. Washington So. F Kentucky SEC
Grant Williams Jr. F Tennessee SEC
Zion Williamson Fr. F Duke ACC
Cassius Winston Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten

@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.