Lawson named to the Wooden Award Final Ballot

LOS ANGELES – Kansas redshirt-junior Dedric Lawson has been named one of 15 to the 2019 men’s national ballot for the John R. Wooden Award, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced Saturday.
Selected by the Wooden Award National Advisory Board, the national ballot consists of 15 student-athletes who are candidates for the Wooden Award All American Team™ and Wooden Award Trophy selecting the most outstanding college basketball player in the United States.
This is the fourth-straight year a Jayhawk has made the Wooden Award final ballot. In 2016, KU’s Perry Ellis was named Wooden All-American. The following season Frank Mason III won the award. Last season, Devonte’ Graham was one of five finalists for the Wooden Award, also earning Wooden All-American honors.
Lawson leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.0 ppg, rebounding at 10.5 rpg and with 19 double-doubles. A national player of the year and All-American candidate, the Memphis, Tennessee, forward has 14 games of 20 or more points and his 19 double-doubles and are tied for sixth nationally. Lawson is the only player in the league averaging a double-double. A three-time Big 12 Player of the Week (11/12, 11/26, 12/26) and five-time league newcomer of the week (12/3, 12/17, 1/14, 1/28, 2/11), Lawson leads KU with 30 blocked shots and his 1.0 blocks per game are fifth in the conference. His 49.3 field goal percentage is ninth in the league.
Besides Mason in 2017, KU’s Danny Manning won the Wooden Award in 1988.
All balloted players have been certified by their university to meet or exceed the qualifications for the Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden when the Award was established. The qualifications include: candidates must exhibit strength of character, both on and off the court; candidates must be full-time students in an accredited NCAA college or university; candidates must be making progress toward graduation and have a cumulative 2.00 grade point average since enrolling in their school; candidates must contribute to team effort; candidates must excel in both offense and defense; and candidates should be considered on their performance over the course of the entire season.
Voting will take place from March 18th to March 25th, and voters, consisting of nearly 1,000 members of the national college basketball media, take into consideration a player’s entire season of play, as well as the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Fans may vote through a fan voting site, sponsored by Wendy’s, at
The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation’s top ten players, and the five finalists for the Wooden Award, which is widely considered the most prestigious honor in college basketball, will be announced following the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament and will be the focus of a 30-minute show on April 3rd on ESPNU at 5:30 p.m. (CT).
The 43rd annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award to the men’s and women’s most outstanding college basketball player will be the anchor presentation of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Presented by Wendy’s on ESPN2 on Friday, April 12, 2019. The men’s and women’s John R. Wooden Award All American Team will be honored during the ceremony, and the 2019 Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Trophy will be presented to Lon Kruger, Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Oklahoma.
Dedric Lawson 2018-19 Honors
Wooden Award Final Ballot (1 of 15)
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalist (1 of 5)
Naismith Trophy Semifinalist (1 of 10)
Naismith Trophy Midseason Team (1 of 30)
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Watch List (1 of 10)
Oscar Robertson Trophy Final Midseason Watch List (1 of 12)
The Sporting News Midseason All-America First Team
Wooden Award Midseason Watch List (1 of 25)
3x Big 12 Player of the Week (11.12, 11.26, 12.26)
5x Big 12 Newcomer of the Week (12.2, 12.17, 1.14, 1.28, 2.11)
Oscar Robertson Midseason Watch List (1 of 20)
NIT Season Tip-Off Most Valuable Player
Wooden Award Preseason Watch List (1 of 50)
NABC Player of the Year candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason Associated Press All-America
Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidate (1 of 20)
Preseason All-Big 12 First Team 
@KUHoops The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.