Mason a finalist for Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award


Bob Cousy Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas senior Frank Mason III has been named one of five finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday.

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor is in its 14th year and recognizes the top point guards in men’s division one college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and now the final five. Other finalists include Nigel Williams-Goss (Gonzaga), Joel Berry II (North Carolina), Lonzo Ball (UCLA) and Jalen Brunson (Villanova).

The 2017 Bleacher Report National Player of the Year and Big 12 Player of the Year, Mason is averaging 20.5 points and is the first Kansas player to lead the Big 12 in scoring since 2004-05 (Wayne Simien at 20.3). The Petersburg, Virginia, native is also first in the conference in 3-point field goal percentage (.493) while ranking fourth in assists (5.1 apg). Mason is vying to become the first player in Big 12 and Kansas history to average 20.0 points and 5.0 assists per game for a season. A finalist for both the Naismith and Wooden national player of the year awards, Mason has 18 games of 20 or more points including five of his last six and seven of his last nine contests as top-ranked Kansas heads to the Big 12 Championship, March 8-11, in Kansas City.

The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 10-24.

The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017.The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Finalists
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Jalen Brunson, Villanova

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.