Mason and Jackson on Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 list

Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s


LOS ANGELES – Kansas senior Frank Mason III and freshman Josh Jackson have been named to the Wooden Award Late Season Top 20 list, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced Wednesday.

Chosen by a poll of national college basketball experts, the list is comprised of 20 student-athletes who are front-runners for the John R. Wooden Award, based on their performances during the 2016-17 season.

Mason leads the Big 12 in scoring at 20.4 points per game and 3-point field goal percentage at 51.9 percent. The Petersburg, Virginia, native is fourth in the league in assists per game at 5.1 and sixth in assist-to-turnover ratio at 2.0. Mason has 13 games of 20 or more points, including three 30-point efforts for the No. 3/3 Jayhawks (21-3, 9-2) who have a one-game lead in the 2016-17 Big 12 race.

Jackson has seven double-doubles this season including three of his last four games. The Detroit native is second on the KU team with a 16.0 scoring average, which is sixth in the Big 12. Jackson leads KU with 40 steals and 28 blocked shots and is second on the team with a 6.8 rebound average. Jackson has seven games with 20 or more points this season with five of those in Big 12 play.

Fifteen top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA will be submitted to voters on the Final Ballot prior to the NCAA Tournament. Voters are permitted to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament when casting the ballot. The 10-man Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced the week of the “Elite Eight” round of the NCAA Tournament.
The 41st annual presentation of the John R. Wooden Award® to the men’s and women’s most outstanding basketball players will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show on Friday, April 7.

Historically, Kansas’ Danny Manning was the recipient of the 1988 Wooden Award. Fifteen Jayhawks have been named Wooden All-American a total of 19 times since the first team was named in 1985-86.

Wooden Award Late Season Top 20
Name, School
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Joel Berry II, North Carolina
Dillon Brooks, Oregon
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Markelle Fultz, Washington
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Josh Hart, Villanova
Justin Jackson, North Carolina
Marcus Keene, Central Michigan
Luke Kennard, Duke
Lauri Markkanen, Arizona
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Johnathan Motley, Baylor
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga

Kansas Wooden Award All-Americans
Danny Manning – 1986, 1988 (winner)
Jacque Vaughn – 1996, 1997
Raef LaFrentz – 1997, 1998
Paul Pierce – 1998
Drew Gooden – 2002
Nick Collison – 2003
Kirk Hinrich – 2003
Wayne Simien – 2005
Brandon Rush – 2007, 2008
Sherron Collins – 2010
Marcus Morris – 2011
Thomas Robinson – 2012
Ben McLemore – 2013
Andrew Wiggins – 2014
Perry Ellis – 2016

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.