Mason named Bob Cousy Award finalist


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Kansas senior Frank Mason III has been named one of 10 watch list finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross.

The 5-foot-11 Mason is a national player of year candidate who leads the Big 12 in scoring at 19.9 points per game. The Petersburg, Virginia, native is also tops in league in 3-point field goal percentage at 51.6 and ranks in the top in the conference in 3-point field goals made per game (fifth at 2.3), and assists (fourth at 5.1). After his 21 points in No. 2/1 Kansas’ win at No. 4/4 Kentucky Jan. 28, Mason has now scored 20 or more points in 11 games this season, including two 30-point efforts.

Mason has been a main cog for the No. 2/1 Kansas team which is 19-2 overall and tied for first in the Big 12 race at 7-1. He has led Kansas in scoring in 15 of 21 games this season and currently ranks 18th on the KU career scoring list with 1,550 points and 11th on the all-time assists chart with 497 dimes. He is also in the KU top 20 in 3-point field goals made (13th with 151) and steals (20th with 146).

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award is in its 14th year recognizing the top point guards in NCAA Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the watch list of 20 candidates in October to the current 10.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Finalists
Nigel Williams-Goss – Gonzaga
Monte Morris – Iowa St.
De’Aaron Fox – Kentucky
Melo Trimble – Maryland
Joel Berry II – North Carolina
Dennis Smith – North Carolina State
Lonzo Ball – University of California, Los Angeles
Jalen Brunson – Villanova
Markelle Fultz – Washington

Twitter @KUHoops
Instagram @kuhoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.