RCW: Inside Men's Basketball 3.26

Get a quick look inside your favorite Kansas Jayhawk programs each week with Rock Chalk Weekly’s Inside Sports pages. Notable statistics, quick hits and the top social media posts get every Jayhawk fan up-to-speed and ready for another week of thrilling competition.
Senior guard Frank Mason III was named the 2017 Big 12 Player of the Year on Sunday afternoon. Mason is the 15th Jayhawk to be named his conference’s player of the year. Mason joins: Big Eight – Dave Robisch (1970, 1971), Bud Stallworth (1972), Danny Manning (1986, 1987, 1988), Jacque Vaughn (1996). Big 12 – Raef LaFrentz (1996, 1997), Drew Gooden (2002), Nick Collison (2003), Wayne Simien (2005), Marcus Morris (2011) and Thomas Robinson (2012).


Big 12 Championship (March 9-11)

Twitter @KUHoops
Facebook /KansasBasketball
Instagram @kuhoopsCox Ad Notes QUICK HITS

  • Kansas went 16-2 in Big 12 play in 2016-17. It marked the third time Kansas has won 16 conference games (16-0 in 2002 and 16-2 in 2012).
  • Kansas won the 2016-17 Big 12 race by four games, going 16-2, while West Virginia, Iowa State and Baylor tied for second at 12-6. The four-game margin marked the fourth time in the Big 12 era Kansas has won the league by that margin joining 1996-97, 1997-98 and 2009-10.
  • In addition to Frank Mason III being named the Big 12 Player of the Year, four Jayhawks earned All-Big 12 honors with Mason and freshman guard Josh Jackson being named to the all-conference first team. Junior guard Devonte’ Graham is a second-team honoree, while senior center Landen Lucas was honorable mention. Jackson is the Big 12 Freshman of the Year while Bill Self is the Big 12 Coach of the Year for the eighth time in his career.
  • Kansas is the No. 1 seed in the 2017 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship, March 8-11 at Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The Jayhawks’ quarterfinal game will be March 9 at 1:30 p.m., on ESPN2. KU will face the winner of the No. 8 seed TCU vs. No. 9 seed Oklahoma who play Wednesday, March 8 at 6 p.m. Kansas has won 14 conference tournament titles, including 10 in the Big 12 era. The Jayhawks are the event’s defending champs.

DQ Catering Ad