Kansas has 22 rowers earn Big 12 academic accolades

LAWRENCE, Kan. – For the third time in the last four years, Kansas rowing had over 20 student-athletes earn Academic All-Big 12 honors for their hard work on the water and in the classroom, as announced by the league office Thursday.

Seniors Peyton Anderson, Bailey Blood, Kelly Koenigsman, McKayla Ross, Lilly Stewart, Valerie Swisher, Michaela Theis and juniors Reese Arnold, Morgan Kottas, Liana Ochoa, Riley Varuska and sophomores London Acree, Taylor Brown, Heidi Burns, Shannon Cody, Katie Donnellan, Maggie Dupuie, Lauren Fee, Jaryn Folk, Katie Joers, Kaeli Nielsen and Anna Van Driel garnered academic accolades from the Big 12.

Kansas had 20 first-team honorees and two Jayhawks earn second-team accolades. Additionally, Donnellan and Folk were also recognized for a perfect 4.0 the last two semesters.

For Koenigsman, Kottas, Ochoa and Varuska, this is the second academic honor of the 2019 season. These four Jayhawks were named recipients of the Dr. Lage Academic Achievement Award, the Big 12 Conferences highest academic honor.


First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

Up Next
Kansas will be on the road again for the 2019 Big 12 Championship in Oak Ridge, Tennessee on Melton Hill Lake on May, 19.




KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.