Kansas sweeps Creighton despite weather conditions


Lawrence, Kan. – Despite rain and an eight mph tailwind on Saturday morning, the University of Kansas rowing team prevailed in a duel race against Creighton, sweeping all six races on the banks of the Kansas River.

To kick off the day, both the Third Varsity Eight A and B teams defeated Creighton with times of 7:05.67 and 6:59.61, respectively. The Kansas 3V8-B boat outraced Creighton by 20 seconds.

The Jayhawks then beat Creighton in the Fourth Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight and First Varsity Eight races. In the First Varsity Eight, the boat of Katherine Young, BriAnna Dittberner, Margret Winter, Kaelyn Thierolf, Jordan Helms, Meghan Karoly, Lexie Lanphere, Maddie Irelan and coxswain Kenzie Obrochta defeated the Bluejays by over 20 seconds with a time of 6:33.52.

Kansas finished out the afternoon with victories from the Second Varsity Four and First Varsity Four boats. In the First Varsity Four race, Coxswain Bailey Coolidge, Bailey Blood, Brittney Railsback, Emily Ruble and Morgan Kottas pulled ahead of both Creighton’s A and B teams with a time of 7:15.21.

Kansas returns to the water on April 1 when the Jayhawks travel to Bloomington, Indiana, to face off with Indiana.

First Varsity Eight – 1V8
Coxswain: Kenzie Obrochta
Katherine Young
BriAnna Dittberner
Margret Winter
Kaelyn Thierolf
Jordan Helms
Meghan Karoly
Lexie Lanphere
Maddie Irelan

Second Varsity Eight – 2V8
Coxswain: Mallory Miller
Kayla Stubblefield
Allison Schaaf
McKayla Ross
Peyton Anderson
Angie Allen
Lilly Stewart 
Reese Arnold
Kylee Dewey

Third Varsity Eight – 3V8
CoxswainKatie McWhirter
Keaton Poppe
Madison Ruffalo
Isabel Horroz
Kate Mizell
Mackenzie Klaver
Caitlin McNulty
Hope McAlexander
Morgan Kottas

First Varsity Four – 1V4
CoxswainBailey Coolidge
Bailey Blood
Brittney Railsback
Emily Ruble
Morgan Kottas

Second Varsity Four – 2V4
Coxswain: Abigale Lane
Bailey Brandon
Valerie Swisher
Kristen Underhill
Madison Hovis

Fourth Varsity Eight – 4V8
Coxswain: Riley Varuska
Alex Burns
Kalyn Blessing
Aminah Reid-Brydon
Madison Wedderspoon
Kelly Koenigsman
Baylee Page
Michaela Theis
Kate Englander

Fifth Varsity Eight – 5V8
Coxswain: Morgan Prieve
Aly Lokanc
Gabrielle Patillo
Celia Tise
Moira Frakes
Hailey Hetzer
Sarina Shanks
Hannah Edelman
Hayley Fernandez

Twitter @KU_Rowing
Instagram @kansasrowing
Facebook /KansasRowing

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.