Rowing Sweeps Dillons Sunflower Showdown on Senior Day

Photos Photo Gallery

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – The forecast called for inclement weather on Saturday, but the clouds parted at Wyandotte County Lake for a gorgeous backdrop to Kansas rowing’s 22-0 sweep of Kansas State in the Dillons Sunflower Showdown. With the win, the Jayhawks keep the Kansas Cup in Lawrence in back-to-back years for the first time since the 2003 and 2004 seasons.

“This win is a good momentum builder and just really good for confidence,” said Kansas head coach Rob Catloth. “We met a challenge that we knew we could overcome and we rose to the level we had been talking about all week – getting to that next level.”

The Jayhawks started off the day racing in the Third Varsity Eight (3V8) where they took the lead on Kansas State and never looked back, cruising to a first-place finish with a time of 7:52.90 – five seconds faster than the Wildcats. KU took a 2-0 lead with the opening race victory.

The Kansas First Varsity Four (1V4) looked similar to the 3V8 as they jumped out to an early lead winning the race by 8 seconds crossing the finish line at 8:54.93 and winning a three-point competition, putting the Jayhawks up 5-0.

In the Second Varsity Four (2V4) race, Kansas ran two boats against Kansas State’s Second Varsity Four. The Jayhawks main 2V4 dominated the race finishing with a time of 8:53.6 – 35 second faster than the Wildcats. The comeback of the day happened for KU’s B team, which started the race three boat lengths behind the Wildcats and managed to take second place and cross the finish line at 9:33.47.

For the Second Varsity Eight (2V8) race the wind picked up and slowed down all boats, but that wouldn’t stop the Jayhawks’ 2V8 boat from continuing the trend of domination. They jumped out to a boat length lead and held that position the whole race. Finishing with a time 7:51.47, setting the pace by 17 seconds.

In the final race of the day the Jayhawks and the Wildcats were neck-in-neck at the beginning of the First Varsity Eight (1V8). As both teams were crossing the half-point mark the race, Kansas increased its stroke rate and picked up a boat length’s lead on the Wildcats. KU finished with a time 7:40.32 to defeat the Wildcats’ main boat and complete the clean sweep at the Sunflower Showdown.

Kansas earned points with the 1V8 victory for a final tally of 22-0. The all-time Sunflower Showdown series is now even, 10-10.

KU will have next weekend off as they prepare for the Big 12 Championships, where they will take on the Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas State, Old Dominion, Tennessee, West Virginia, and Alabama.

“These kids have been working hard,” said Catloth. “We have had the Sunflower Showdown and Big 12s marked down on our calendar where we wanted to perform well and have been gearing to this since August. It was important to this group after winning the trophy last year to keep it.”

Kansas capped off the successful day by recognizing its seven seniors – Angie Flores-Rodriguez, Emma O’Neill, Jackie Adamle, Maggie Duncan, Casey Kelly, Briana Pina, Tessa Scott, Mary Slattery – during the annual Senior Day ceremony. The soon-to-be graduating Jayhawks were presented with a framed Kansas rowing jersey with action photos included, and a bouquet of flowers.


Team Score
Kansas 22, Kansas State 0

Third Varsity Eight
1. Kansas 7:52.9 (2 points)
2. K-State 7:57.9
3. Kansas B 8:14.18

First Varsity Four
1. Kansas 8:54.93 (3 points)
2. K-State 9:02.28

Second Varsity Four
1. Kansas 8:53.67 (2 points)
2. Kansas B 9:33.47
3. K-State 9:39.42

Second Varsity Eight
1. Kansas 7:51.62 (6 points)
2. K-State 8:08.47

First Varsity Eight
1. Kansas 7:40.32 (9 points)
2. K-State 7:50.75


First Varsity Eight
“Sue Anderson”
Coxswain: Mary Slattery
8: Maggie Duncan
7: BriAnna Dittberner
6: Kaelyn Thierolf
5: Allison Schaaf
4: Tessa Scott
3: Margret Winter
2: Jordan Helms
1: Maddie Irelan

Second Varsity Eight
“Jayhawk Nation”
Coxswain: Kenzie Obrochta
8: Angie Allen
7: Kat Young
6: Kayla Stubblefield
5: Angie Flores
4: McKayla Ross
3: Lexie Lanphere
2: Kaitlyn Hartnett
1: Meghan Karoly

Third Varsity Eight
“Quiet Beast”
Coxswain: Abby Lane
8: Kristen Underhill
7: Madi Hovis
6: Regan McComb
5: Keaton Poppe
4: Jackie Adamle
3: Emily Ruble
2: Regan Braun
1: Bailey Brandon

Fourth Varsity Eight
“Toto’s Revenge”
Coxswain: Bri Pina
8: Caitie McNulty
7: Marissa Gray
6: Brooke Haskins
5: Jessica Kirchner
4: Janelle Lee
3: Tumi Osunsanmi
2: Victoria Snitsar
1: Michaela Theis

First Varsity Four
Coxswain: Mallory Miller
4: Kenzie Klaver
3: Ally Fullerton
2: Brittney Railsback
1: Kylee Dewey

Second Varsity Four
“Mawson’s Mission”
Coxswain: Bailey Coolidge
4: Bailey Blood
3: Casey Kelly
2: Peyton Anderson
1: Lilly Stewart

Third Varsity Four
Coxswain: Chandler Sloan
4: Janelle Lee
3: Valerie Swisher
2: Kelly Koenigsman
1: Katie McWhirter The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.