10 Jayhawks earn CRCA National Scholar honors

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas rowing had 10 student-athletes earn Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) National Scholar Athlete honors for their efforts in the classroom and on the water.

London Acree (Geography and Political Science), Reese Arnold (Exercise Science), Shannon Cody (Accounting), Laureen Fee (Psychology and Applied Behavior Science), Jayrn Folk (Aerospace Engineering), Kelly Koenigsman (Middle-level Math Education), Morgan Kottas (Architecture Studies), Liana Ochoa (Human Biology) Lilly Stewart (Journalism – News & Information) and Riley Varuska (Exercise Science) were all recognized by the CRCA as a scholar athlete for 2019.

The 10 Jayhawks honored by the CRCA is the most in a single season. Kansas previously had nine CRCA Scholar Athletes in 2018 and 2008.

The criteria for the academic award requires student-athletes to maintain a 3.5 cumulative GPA, have completed their second, third or fourth year of eligibility and rowed in a minimum of 75 percent of competitions in the spring.

In addition, Arnold and Cody were selected to the CRCA Big 12 All-Conference team.


KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.