Softball lands nine on Academic All-Big 12 Teams

IRVING, Texas — Kansas softball landed nine student-athletes on the 2019 Academic All-Big 12 Teams released by the conference on Thursday.

The Jayhawks are tied with Oklahoma and Oklahoma State for the second-most first-team honorees (eight) and are tied with Texas for the fourth-most selections overall (nine).  A total of 62 Big 12 softball student-athletes from seven teams are featured on the list.

Sophomore utility/pitcher Tarin Travieso is one of six Big 12 softball student-athletes on the list with a 4.00 grade point average during the previous two semesters.

KU’s first-team members include Travieso, senior outfielder Emily Bermel, sophomore catcher Shelby Gayre, senior utility/pitcher Brynn Minor, junior infielder Becki Monaghan, junior infielder Miranda Rodriguez and junior infielder Madison Sykes. Senior outfielder Jennifer Marwitz is KU’s lone second-team honoree.

First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second-team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

KU on the Academic All-Big 12 Teams
Name Class Major Hometown Academic All-Big 12 Team
Emily Bermel Sr. Journalism Lawrence, Kan. First Team
Sam Dellinger Jr. Psychology Papillion, Neb. First Team
Shelby Gayre So. Exercise Science D’Hanis, Texas First Team
Brynn Minor Sr. Exercise Science Wichita, Kan. First Team
Becki Monaghan Jr. Business | Marketing Stony Plain, Alberta First Team
Miranda Rodriguez Jr. Exercise Science Elk Grove, Calif. First Team
Madison Sykes Jr.. Business | Management & Leadership Blue Springs, Mo. First Team
Tarin Travieso So. Exercise Science San Antonio, Texas First Team
Jennifer Marwitz Sr. Community Health Oklahoma City, Okla. Second Team