Big 12 releases swimming and diving postseason awards

PDF Complete Big 12 Postseason Awards List

IRVING, Texas – The Big 12 conference released the 2017 All-Big 12 swimming and diving postseason awards on Thursday, April 6, as well as officially listing the first and second team honorees. Kansas saw three student-athletes earn All-Big 12 First Team honors as well as seven earning second team nods.
The All-Big 12 First and Second Team lists are decided by results from the conference meet, with first-through-third place finishers in individual events earning first team, and places fourth-through-sixth earning second team honors.
Earning spots on the first team were junior Madison Straight, and freshmen Peri Charapich and Haley Downey. Straight earned a third-place finish in the 400-yard individual medley and Charapich finished third in the platform dive, while Downey tabbed two third place finishes in the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke races.
The seven Jayhawks to earn second team honors were freshman Jenny Nusbaum (4th – 200 Free; 5th – 1,650 Free), senior Pia Pavlic (T-4th – 200 IM; 5th – 100 Fly), senior Sammie Schurig (5th – 200 Free), senior Yulduz Kuchkarova (4th – 100 Back; 6th – 200 Back), senior Amanda Maser (4th – Platform), freshman Carly Straight (5th – 100 Free) and sophomore Libby Walker (4th – 1,650 Free; 6th – 200 Fly).
Texas nearly swept the Big 12 Postseason Awards on both sides, with Morgan Carr of West Virginia spoiling the sweep by splitting the women’s Newcomer of the Year award with the Longhorns’ Alison Gibson.
2017 All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving Postseason Awards
Men’s Swimmer of the Year: Will Licon, Texas
Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Madisyn Cox, Texas
Men’s Diver of the Year: Mark Anderson, Texas
Women’s Diver of the Year: Alison Gibson, Texas
Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Grayson Campbell, Texas
Women’s Co-Newcomers of the Year: Alison Gibson, Texas; Morgan Carr, West Virginia
Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Eddie Reese, Texas
Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Carol Capitani, Texas
Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas
Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas  The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.