Six Jayhawks to Receive Big 12’s Lage Award

Big 12 Release and Complete List of Recipients (.pdf)

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The Big 12 Conference recognized six Kansas Jayhawks among 64 total recipients of the Dr. Gerald Lage Award, the league’s highest academic honor, as announced Tuesday afternoon.

KU seniors Caty Clements (Rowing), Liz Scherer (Rowing) and Amy Wehrs (Volleyball), along with juniors Jessie Jacob (Rowing), Deanna Marks (Swimming and Diving) and Jonathan Miller (Track and Field) will all receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships for earning a cumulative GPA of 3.80 in at least 100 credit hours of completed coursework.

The award is named after Dr. Gerald Lage who was a member of the faculty at Oklahoma State from 1966-2004 and was the OSU faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007.

The six student-athletes honored from Kansas was the third-most in the conference, behind Baylor (16) and Kansas State (10). The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.