Burse, Smith named AVCA honorees

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas volleyball players Jada Burse and Ashley Smith were recognized for their efforts in 2018 by the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA). Burse was named to the AVCA All-Midwest Region Team, while Smith earned a honorable mention selection.
Burse, a junior from DeSoto, Texas led Kansas in kills (374), kills per set (3.46), total attempts (975), points (408.5) and points per set (3.78).
The Texas product also earned All-Big 12 First Team honors, and finished the regular season ranked sixth in the Big 12 in kills per set and eighth in points per set.
Burse’s stellar season vaulted her to 28th in the Kansas career record book in kills (835) and 31st in career points (911.0)
Smith, a junior from Las Vegas, Nev., finished second on the team in kills (321) and kills per set (2.94), while finishing with the third-highest attack percentage (.242). She was also named to the All-Big 12 Second Team.
The AVCA honors are the first for Burse and Smith and continue a streak that started in 2013 of at least two KU volleyball players being represented as AVCA regional honorees.
Lauren Bruns | Dayton 
Jada Burse | Kansas
Emily Butters** | Missouri State              
Sarah Dixon | Kansas State
Rachel Koop | Northern Iowa
Grace Lazard | Iowa State
Tyrecia Lukes | UMKC
Gloria Mutiri | Kansas State
Jess Schaben*** | Iowa State
Karlie Taylor** | Northern Iowa
Piper Thomas** | Northern Iowa
Brooke Westbeld | Dayton
Taylor Wilson | South Dakota
Kylee Zumach** | Kansas State
Kendyll Brown | Dayton
Hayley Dotseth | South Dakota
Alyssa LaFace | Eastern Michigan
Rebecca Latham | Denver
Piper Mauck | Iowa State
Ashley Smith | Kansas
Player of the Year: Lauren Bruns | Dayton
Freshman of the Year: Gloria Mutiri | Kansas State
Coach of the Year: Bobbi Petersen | Northern Iowa