Cassie Wait named Sportswoman of the Year by KC Sports Commission


Kansas City Sports Commission

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kansas volleyball’s Cassie Wait has been named the JE Dunn Sportswoman of the Year, the Kansas City Sports Commission announced on Monday.

The prestigious honor given to the top female athlete in the surrounding region of Kansas City, will be presented to Wait at the KC Sports Commission Awards Banquet, Wednesday, April 26 at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown-Muehlebach Tower. A reception will start at 5:30 p.m. with dinner and the program starting at 7 p.m.

Wait is currently in her first year in KU’s School of Law after completing one of the most storied careers in Kansas volleyball history. In 2016, the three-year starter at libero led the Jayhawks to their first-ever conference title, earning AVCA All-American Honorable Mention and Big 12 Libero of the Year honors along the way.

The Gardner, Kansas native graduated with a business degree in three years in May 2016 with a 3.90 GPA before enrolling in law school. Wait is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team honoree and member of the University of Kansas Honors Program.

Wait played an integral role in leading Kansas to its first-ever Final Four appearance in 2015 and first-ever Big 12 Conference title in 2016. She helped usher in an era of unprecedented success for Kansas, finishing her career 104 victories and the program’s best four-year winning percentage (.819). During her senior season, Wait led the Big 12 in digs per set (5.10) and finished second in career digs at Kansas (1,958).

About The Kansas City Sports Commission and Foundation
The mission of the Kansas City Sports Commission & Foundation is to drive Kansas City’s overall sports strategy, to enrich the quality of life, create economic impact and raise visibility for our region. As a privately-funded nonprofit, we are entirely dependent on your support.


Executive of the Year: Dr. Bob Boerigter, former MIAA commissioner
Sportsman of the Year: Kyle Zimmerman, Northwest Missouri State football
Sportswoman of the Year: CASSIE WAIT, Kansas volleyball
Coach of the Year: Eric Driskell (awarded posthumously), Blue Valley High School football
Community Champion: Dan Sudeikis, Team Host for Kansas City Basketball events


KC Sports Commission Sportswoman of the Year
Big 12 Libero of the Year
Big 12 Volleyball Scholar-Athlete of the Year
AVCA All-America Honorable Mention
All-Big 12 First Team
AVCA All-Midwest Region
CoSIDA Academic All-District
Big 12 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 5, Sept. 12, Oct. 17)

Twitter @KUVolleyball
Instagram @kuvolleyball
Facebook /KansasVolleyball The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.