Kansas Women’s Golf Releases Schedule for 2014-15

2014-15 Schedule
9/8-9 Marilynn Smith Sunflower Invitational
9/15-16 Minnesota Invitational    
9/21-23    Lady Paladin Invitational
10/10-12  Ron Moore Women’s Intercollegiate
10/26-28 Palmetto Intercollegiate
2/22-24 Allstste Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate
3/16-17 Arizaona Wildcat Invitational
3/23-25 SDSU Farms Invitational
4/10-11 DAC/SMU Invitational
4/24-26 Big 12 Championship
5/7-9 NCAA Regionals
5/22-27 NCAA Championship

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas women’s golf will defend two tournament titles and looks to build toward another NCAA Championship berth as its 2014-15 schedule was released Thursday.
The season opens when the Jayhawks play host to the annual Marilynn Smith Sunflower Invitational at Alvamar Golf Club, Sept. 8-9, in Lawrence. The Jayhawks are two-time defending champions at the Marilynn Smith, an event which rotates annually between Lawrence and Manhattan, Kansas. Last year KU won the Marilynn Smith at Colbert Hills Golf Course in Manhattan and has won the event five times (2004, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2013) under head coach Erin O’Neil who enters her 11th season at KU.
KU will play three more tournaments before concluding the fall KU at the Palmetto Invitational in Kaiwah Island, South Carolina, Oct. 26-28. Kansas won last year’s Palmetto Invitational on Turtle Point Golf Course. Prior to the Palmetto Invitational the Jayhawks will compete at the Minnesota Invitational at Minikahda Golf Course (Sept. 15-16), the Lady Paladin Invitational at the Furman University Golf Course in Greenville, South Carolina, (Sept. 21-23) and the Ron Moore Women’s Intercollegiate at Highlands Ranch Golf Course in Littleton, Colorado (Oct. 10-12).
KU kicks off its spring competition at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Intercollegiate, Feb. 22-24, at the English Turn Golf and Country Club in New Orleans. KU will then have three events – the Arizona Wildcat Invitational (Sewailo Golf Course) in Tucson, Arizona, March 16-17; the SDSU Farms Invitational (The Farms Golf Club) in San Diego, California, March 23-25; and the DAC/SMU Invitational (Dallas Athletic Club) in Dallas, April 10-11. The Jayhawks placed fifth at the SMU invite last year.
The 2015 Big 12 Championship will be at Dominion Country Club, April 24-26, in San Antonio, Texas, marking the first time in the 19-year history of the league the championship was not held in a conference school city. Last year, Kansas tied for fourth at the Big 12 Championship in Austin, Texas, to mark its highest conference finish since placing third in the 1992 Big Eight Championship.
Kansas returns three of its top five scorers from 2013-14 where the Jayhawks recorded 13 top-10 finishes in 14 events, including 10 top-5 placings. KU earned an at-large bid to the 2014 NCAA Central Regional in Stillwater, Oklahoma, and placed fifth to advance to the NCAA Championship in Tulsa. Junior Yupaporn Kawinpakorn led KU with a school-record 74.5 scoring average last season in earning All-Big 12 accolades. Senior Minami Levonowich was KU’s third leading scorer in 2013-14 at 76.3, with sophomore Pornvipa Sakdee next at 76.5.

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.