Four Jayhawks earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Four Kansas women’s basketball student-athletes earned Academic All-Big 12 Honors, as announced by the league on Tuesday afternoon.
The four honorees mark the third time in head coach Brandon Schneider’s four years that KU has had at least four Academic All-Big selections.
Senior Kylee Kopatich, a Sport Management major, is one of eight women’s basketball student-athletes in the Big 12 Conference to be named an Academic All-Big 12 selection three times. Kopatich was selected to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team in each of the three seasons she was eligible for the honor.
Joining Kopatich on the first team are sophomore Bailey Helgren and medically disqualified senior Tyler Johnson. Helgren is studying Business Management and Leadership, while Johnson is a Communication Studies major. Johnson’s Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection marks the second time she has received the honor.
Redshirt-freshman Brittany Franklin earned her first Academic All-Big 12 honor as a second team selection. The Plymouth, North Carolina native is studying Sport Management.
First team members must have maintained a GPA of 3.20 or better, while the second team selections must keep a GPA between 3.00 and 3.19.
In order to qualify for Academic All-Big 12 honors, student athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters. Additionally, the student-athlete has to have participated in 20 percent of their team’s scheduled games. Freshman and transfers are not eligible during their first year of academic residence.
The Jayhawks return to Allen Fieldhouse for a two-game homestand. Kansas hosts TCU on Wednesday, Feb. 27 at 7 p.m., inside Allen Fieldhouse. The game will be broadcast on the Jayhawk Television Network/ESPN+ and the Jayhawk Radio Network.




@KUwbballl The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.