Franklin named to Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association’s Hall of Fame

COLLEGE STATION, Texas— The Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association’s Hall of Fame named Kansas women’s basketball associate head coach Aqua Franklin to its Class of 2018 along with six other former Aggie letterwinners.
Franklin was the first two-time All-American in program history. The 41st annual Burgess Banquet where Franklin will be honored will be held on Friday, Sept. 14 in the Hall of Champions on the west side of Kyle Field.
A four-year letterwinner from 2005-08, Franklin ranks third in school history with 157 3-pointers and fourth with 627 career assists. She ranks 20th in school history with 1,115 points scored. Franklin nabbed 209 steals, which ranks ninth all-time in the Texas A&M record books. In all four of her seasons, she led the Big 12 in assist-to-turnover ratio.
During her career, the Aggies posted a 93-39 record, marking the most wins in any four-year period to that point. She led Texas A&M to the first three NCAA Tournament appearances in the still-active streak of 13-straight trips to the Big Dance and to back-to-back Big 12 titles in 2007 and 2008. She was named to the NCAA Oklahoma City Regional All-Tournament team in 2008 after the Aggies made the first Elite Eight appearance in program history.
Franklin, a three-time All-Big 12 selection, was a third-round pick of the Sacramento Monarchs in the 2008 WNBA Draft, and played two seasons in the WNBA before beginning her coaching career. She has had stints at Kansas, Stephen F. Austin and Mississippi State before returning to the Jayhawks’ staff where she is now the associate head coach.
During her first stretch at Kansas in the 2011-12 season, Franklin helped the Jayhawks to their first NCAA Sweet 16 since 1998. Since returning to KU’s coaching staff, Franklin guided two Jayhawks to All-Big 12 honors. Senior guard Jessica Washington was named to the All-Big 12 second-team and was selected as the 2017 Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, becoming the first Jayhawk to win the award. Senior guard Christalah Lyons was named to the All-Big 12 Honorable Mention team last season.




@KUwbballl The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.