



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 9, 2020

Contact: Russell Luna 469.524.1009 / russell@Bigl2Sports.com

# 2019-20 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Awards Announced

Irving, Texas – Four student-athletes from Baylor, along with Lady Bears head coach Kim Mulkey, K-State's Ayoka Lee and Oklahoma State's Natasha Mack headlined the 2019-20 Phillips 66 All-Big I2 Women's Basketball Awards.

Baylor's Lauren Cox brings home the eighth Big I2 Player of the Year honor for the Lady Bears and the first since Kalani Brown in 2018. The senior from Flower Mound, Texas, averaged I2.5 points and 8.4 rebounds in 22 games, missing eight games due to injury. Cox has amassed I,570 points, 982 rebounds, 363 assists and 301 blocks during her four-year career.

BU's DiDi Richards garnered Defensive Player of the Year honors for the first time and became the ninth winner from Baylor since the award began in 2006. Richards' teammate Lauren Cox had previously won the award the past two seasons. Richards is fourth nationally and paces the Big I2 with a 3.02 assist-to-turnover ratio. Additionally, she is I0th in the Big I2 with I.73 steals per game and I5th with 0.83 blocks per contest.

For a third-consecutive year and eighth time overall, BU's Mulkey was selected as Coach of the Year. Mulkey guided the Lady Bears to a 28-2 regular-season record and a 17-1 mark in Conference action. Earlier this season on February 19, she became the fastest men's or women's coach in NCAA Division I to reach 600 career wins in just 700 games.

Kansas State's Ayoka Lee joins Nicole Ohlde (2001) as the second Wildcat to earn Freshman of the Year. Lee ranks in the top-II in five national categories including No. 7 in blocked shots per game (3.II), No. 9 in double-doubles (I9), No. 9 in offensive rebounds per game (4.2) and No. II in rebounds per game (II.7). The freshman from Byron, Minnesota, has won Big I2 Freshman of the Week a league-record I2 times this season.

Baylor's Te'a Cooper was tabbed Newcomer of the Year, becoming the sixth Lady Bear to win the honor and the first since Alexis Jones collected the accolade in 2016. Cooper, a graduate transfer from South Carolina, averages 13.6 points per contest, while ranking No. 3 in the league in assists per game (4.6) and No. 6 in steals per game (1.9).

Natasha Mack is the third consecutive Oklahoma State Cowgirl to earn Newcomer of the Year and fourth overall. The junior transfer from Angelina College is No. I in the league in double-doubles (I9), No. I in defensive rebounds (9.II), No. 2 in blocked shots (3.6) and No. 3 in rebounds per game (I2.5).

Baylor sophomore Queen Egbo is the fifth Lady Bear to win the Sixth Player Award and first since Cox in 2017. The Houston native ranks 16th in the Big 12 with 6.22 rebounds per contest and is 14th in the league with 0.94 blocks per game. Egbo has registered seven double-double performances this season, which is 10th in the league.

Three student-athletes earned unanimous All-Big I2 First Team honors: Lauren Cox (Baylor), Ashley Joens (Iowa State) and Vivian Gray (Oklahoma State).

Cox and Richards from Baylor earned All-Defensive Team nods, while Oklahoma State's Mack, TCU's Kianna Ray and Texas Tech's Brittany Brewer rounded out the squad.

Joining Lee on the All-Freshman Team were: Maggie Espenmiller-McGraw (Iowa State), Zakiyah Franklin (Kansas), Gabby Gregory (Oklahoma) and Celeste Taylor (Texas).

The All-Big I2 honors were chosen by head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

## 2019-20 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards

Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor (20th season at Baylor, 20th overall)

Player of the Year: Lauren Cox, Baylor, C, 6-4, Sr., Flower Mound, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: DiDi Richards, Baylor, G, 6-I, Jr., Cypress, Texas

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Te'a Cooper, Baylor, G, 5-8, Gr., Powder Springs, Ga.

Co-Newcomer of the Year: Natasha Mack, Oklahoma State, F, 6-4, Jr., Lufkin, Texas

TCU

Texas

West Virginia

Freshman of the Year: Ayoka Lee, Kansas State, C, 6-5, Byron, Minn. Sixth Player Award: Queen Egbo, Baylor, C, 6-3, So., Houston, Texas

#### All-Big 12 First Team (honors listed alphabetical by school)

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
Lauren Cox+%**	Baylor	F	6-4	Sr.	Flower Mound, Texas
NaLyssa Smith	Baylor	F	6-2	So.	Converse, Texas
Te'a Cooper	Baylor	G	5-8	Gr.	Powder Springs, Ga.
Ashley Joens**	Iowa State	G/F	6-0	So.	Iowa City, Iowa
Ayoka Lee	Kansas State	С	6-5	R-Fr.	Byron, Minn.
Peyton Williams%	Kansas State	F	6-4	Sr.	Topeka, Kan.
Vivian Gray%**	Oklahoma State	G	6-1	Jr.	Argyle, Texas
Lauren Heard	TCU	G	5-9	Jr.	Denton, Texas
Charli Collier	Texas	F/C	6-5	So.	Mont Belvieu, Texas
Brittany Brewer	Texas Tech	F	6-5	Sr.	Abilene, Texas
All-Big 12 Second Team					
Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
DiDi Richards	Baylor	G	6-1	Jr.	Cypress, Texas
Natasha Mack	Oklahoma State	F	6-4	Jr.	Lufkin, Texas

G

G

#### All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Kianna Ray

Sug Sutton%

Tynice Martin<sup>^</sup>%

Juicy Landrum (Baylor), Kristin Scott (Iowa State), Angela Harris (K-State), Taylor Robertson (Oklahoma), Jayde Woods (TCU), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Chrislyn Carr (Texas Tech), Kysre Gondrezick (West Virginia), Kari Niblack (West Virginia).

6-1

5-8

5-11

Sr.

Sr.

R-Sr.

Austin, Texas

St. Louis, Mo.

Atlanta, Ga.

% 2018-19 All-Big I2 First Team Selection

- > 2018-19 All-Big I2 Second Team Selection
- + 2017-18 All-Big 12 First Team Selection
- ^ 2016-17 All-Big 12 First Team Selection

### **Big 12 All-Defensive Team**

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI	<u>Hometown</u>
Lauren Cox^+**	Baylor	F	6-4	Sr.	Flower Mound, Texas
DiDi Richards+**	Baylor	G	6-1	Jr.	Cypress, Texas
Natasha Mack	Oklahoma State	F	6-4	Jr.	Lufkin, Texas
Kianna Ray	TCU	G	6-1	Sr.	Austin, Texas
Brittany Brewer	Texas Tech	F	6-5	Sr.	Abilene, Texas

<sup>\*\*</sup> Unanimous Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes selected for team on other nine ballots)

#### Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Player	School	Pos	Ht	CI.	<u>Hometown</u>
Maggie Espenmiller-McGraw	Iowa State	G	5-10	Fr.	Indianola, Iowa
Zakiyah Franklin	Kansas	G	5-7	Fr.	Lakeland, Fla.
Ayoka Lee**	Kansas State	С	6-5	R-Fr.	Byron, Minn.
Gabby Gregory**	Oklahoma	G	6-0	Fr.	Tulsa, Okla.
Celeste Taylor**	Texas	G	5-11	Fr.	Valley Stream, N.Y.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Unanimous Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes selected for team on other nine ballots)

<sup>\*\*</sup> Unanimous First Team Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes voted first team by other nine coaches)

<sup>+ 2018-19</sup> Big I2 All-Defensive Team Selection

<sup>^ 2017-18</sup> Big 12 All-Defensive Team Selection