Kansas Rowing Finishes in Third Place at the Big 12 Championships

LAWRENCE, Kan.- The University of Kansas rowing team wrapped up the Big 12 Championship racing with a pair of victories, highlighted by the Fourth Varsity Eight and First Varsity Four, en route to a third-place finish in the conference.

Big 12 Championship racing kicked off with the Fourth Varsity Eight, a race that saw the Jayhawks claim victory (7:44.95) by more than 16 seconds over second-place Texas. In the boat for the KU were junior Kristen Byrd, sophomores Breeona Foster, Casey Kelly, freshmen Kathleen Brady, Kate Cropp, Kylee Dewey, coxswain Mallory Miller, Brittney Railsback and Emily Ruble.

“I thought we raced competitively as a team today,” head coach Rob Catloth said. “The Fourth Varsity Eight and First Varsity Four came out and gave us an early lead in the standings, but we couldn’t close it out with the final two races.”

The Third Varsity continued the racing action with Kansas winding up with a second overall finish (7:53.82) behind Oklahoma. Members of the KU boat included freshmen Bailey Brandon, Danielle Gibson, Christina Granzow, Madison Hovis, Lexie Lanphere, Olivia Loney, coxswain Kenzie Obrochta, Allison Schaaf and Katherine Young.

The Jayhawks continued their strong efforts with a second-place finish (8:33.15) in the Second Varsity Four race. Rowing for KU were senior Meghan Cahill, juniors Angie Flores-Rodriguez, Jennifer Hartzler and coxswain Sarah Lasini, The race helped earn Kansas the lead in overall team standings at the halfway-point in the day with a 21 to 17 lead over second-place Oklahoma.

Kansas’ hot start would only get hotter as the Jayhawks won a nail-biter in the First Varsity Four (8:21.83) over Texas by 0.14 second. The crew for KU included seniors Kelsie Fiss, Carly Iverson, coxswain Abbey Lozenski, Jessica Miller and sophomore Tessa Scott.

The day continued with the Second Varsity Eight race which saw KU place fourth (7:49.36) overall, finishing ahead of West Virginia. Rowing for Kansas were seniors Kaylee Sextro, Emma Umbarger, juniors Julia Alvey, Erin Brogan, Alexa Fowlkes, Allie Griffin, Jessica Jacob, sophomore coxswain Mary Slattery and freshmen Emma O’Neil.

The day concluded with the Jayhawks First Varsity Eight claiming third place (7:30.21) in the First Varsity Eight race. Powering the boat for Kansas were senior coxswain Catherine Clements, fellow seniors Caitlyn Decker, Tearson ‘Jade’ Lambkins, Elizabeth Scherer, Alexandra Torquemada, juniors Claudijah Lever, Brooke Thuston, sophomore Maggie Duncan and freshman Maddie Irelan.

KU finished in third place for the third-consecutive year in the Big 12 Championship standings with 102 total points. Oklahoma earned its second-straight Big 12 Championship with 125 points. Senior Elizabeth Scherer garnered All-Big 12 First team accolades, while senior Alexandra Torquemada and junior Claudijah Lever both earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors.

Kansas will next travel to the Conference USA (C-USA) Championships on Saturday, May 17 in Oak Ridge, Tenn. The winner of the C-USA Championship will earn an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships in Indianapolis, Ind.

Final Team Standings
Oklahoma        125
Kansas State   112
Kansas             102
Texas                  91
West Virginia     50

Kansas Boatings
First Varsity Eight – 3rd (7:30.21)
Catherine Clements – Coxswain
Caitlyn Decker
Elizabeth Scherer
Alexandra Torquemada
Tearson ‘Jade’ Lambkins
Claudijah Lever
Brooke Thuston
Maggie Duncan
Maddie Irelan
Second Varsity Eight – 4th (7:49.36)
Mary Slattery – Coxswain
Julia Alvey
Emma Umbarger
Allie Griffin
Erin Brogan
Jessica Jacob
Emma O’Neill
Alexa Fowlkes
Kaylee Sextro
First Varsity Four – 1st (8:21.83)
Abbey Lozenski – Coxswain
Tessa Scott
Carly Iverson
Kelsie Fiss
Jessica Miller
Second Varsity Four – 2nd (8:33.15)
Sarah Lasini – Coxswain
Jennifer Hartzler
Meghan Cahill
Jackie Adamle
Angie Flores-Rodriguez
Third Varsity Eight – 2nd (7:53.82)
Kenzie Obrochta – Coxswain
Christina Granzow
Lexie Lanphere
Olivia Loney
Allison Schaaf
Katherine Young
Madison Hovis
Bailey Brandon
Danielle Gibson
Fourth Varsity Eight – 1st (7:44.95)
Mallory Miller – Coxswain
Breeona Foster
Emily Ruble
Kristen Byrd
Kylee Dewey
Kate Cropp
Casey Kelly
Brittney Railsback
Kathleen Brady

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.