🏀 Harris Named to the 2024 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — Kansas redshirt-senior Dajuan Harris Jr. is one of 20 named to the 2024 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Monday.

Harris is looking to become the second Jayhawk to win the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award joining 2017 recipient Frank Mason III.

Named Preseason All-Big 12 First Team by the league coaches, Harris was the 2023 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. The guard from Columbia, Missouri, averaged 8.9 points, 2.5 rebounds, 6.2 assists and 2.2 steals per game last season. A two-year starter, including the 2022 NCAA Championship team, Harris has led the Big 12 in assist-to-turnover ratio each of the last two seasons. In 2022 and 2023, Harris was named All-Big Honorable Mention and to the Big 12 All-Defensive Team. For his career, Harris has played in 106 games with 77 starts at KU and ranks 14th on the KU career assists list with 455 and is tied for 15th on the career steals list with 165. Additionally, Harris is a three-time Academic All-Big 12 First Team selection.

Named after Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and six-time NBA Finals Champion Bob Cousy, the annual honor in its 21st year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting in each of the three rounds starting on Friday, October 27. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just 5. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2024 Bob Cousy Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), Karl Malone (Power Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Last season, KU’s Jalen Wilson won the 2023 Julius Erving Award.

For more information on the 2024 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award and the latest updates, visit hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophallu and #CousyAward on Twitter and Instagram.

2024 Bob Cousy Award Candidates*
Ace Baldwin, Penn State
Boo Buie, Northwestern
DJ Wagner, Kentucky
Isaiah Collier, USC
Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State
Jahmir Young, Maryland
Jahvon Quinerly, Memphis
Jamal Shead, Houston
Jeremy Roach, Duke
Judah Mintz, Syracuse
Max Abmas, Texas
Nijel Pack, Miami
R.J. Davis, UNC
Ryan Nembhard, Gonzaga
Steve Ashworth, Creighton
Tristen Newton, UConn
Tyler Kolek, Marquette
Wade Taylor IV, Texas A&M
Zakai Zeigler, Tennessee

* Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2023-24 season.