Mangino Earns Coach Of The Year Honor From Peers

Jan. 10, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas head football coach Mark Mangino received yet another national coach of the year honor, but this one may have had the most meaning as it was selected by his peers.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

The American Football Coaches Association capped its convention Wednesday night by presenting Mangino the Football Bowl Subdivision honor. The award is the oldest of all coach of the year awards and is voted on by active AFCA members.

Mangino led KU to a school record 12 wins and a victory in the FedEx Orange Bowl. This year the Jayhawks played in their first January bowl game since the 1969 Orange Bowl.

While not completely sweeping the national coaching awards, Mangino pulled in most of the honors this postseason. Here is a look at the national honors he has received as of Jan. 10:

Mangino’s National Coach of the Year honors

American Football Coaches Association

Associated Press

Bear Bryant

Eddie Robinson (Football Writer’s Association of America)

Home Depot

The Sporting News

Walter Camp

Woody Hayes