Kansas Team Health

Kansas Athletics has launched a new model of student-athlete care believed to be the first of its kind among major collegiate athletics programs.

Kansas Athletics is collaborating with The University of Kansas Health System and LMH Health to launch Kansas Team Health, a new model of care that makes the resources of The University of Kansas Health System and LMH Health available to provide the best care possible for KU student-athletes, and clearly establishes the responsibility of care with medical professionals while minimizing potential conflicts of interest between coaches and sports medicine staff.

This new model transitions approximately 40 sports medicine staff – including physicians, athletic trainers, nutritionists, wellness coordinators and, most notably, strength and conditioning coaches – from Kansas Athletics to The University of Kansas Health System. As a result, staff members now fully report to medical professionals, rather than through a physician employed by the department and reporting to Kansas Athletics administrators. This is now a true medical oversight and healthcare compliance model.

The Kansas Team Health model is believed to be the first among major universities to incorporate strength and conditioning coaches.

“We knew we had a special opportunity to be innovative and get ahead of the curve,” Chancellor Douglas Girod said. “As a result, I believe we can tell all current and future student-athletes that they’re getting the best care and training in the country at the University of Kansas.”

The new model is the result of purposeful efforts by the University of Kansas and Kansas Athletics to provide the highest level of care to student-athletes. This change positions Kansas as a national leader in addressing concerns and challenges across college athletics related to athletics department reporting structures and medical care.

Administration

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Jarrod HarrallHead Primary Care Physician864-0896jarrodharrall@ku.edu
Jeffery Randall, MDHead Team Physician – Orthopedicjrandall-vfa@kumc.edu
Brian ConwaySenior Administrator864-1290conwayb@ku.edu
Brieanna BrennanOffice and Insurance Manager864-0896Bbrennan5@kumc.edu

Medical Providers

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Jarrod HarrallHead Primary Care Team Physician864-0896jarrodharrall@ku.edu
Jeffery Randall, MDHead Team Physician – Orthopedicjrandall-vfa@kumc.edu
Luis Salazar, MDAssistant Team Physician – Primary Carelsalazar@ku.edu
Douglas Stull, MDAssistant Team Physician Orthopedics843-9125Douglass.Stull@LMH.ORG
Stephan Prô, MDAssistant Team Physician Orthopedics
Erik Henkleman, MDAssistant Team Physician Orthopedicsehenkelman@kumc.edu
Polly Sheridan-Young, PA-CPhysician Assistant864-7417sheridan@ku.edu

Sports Medicine – Olympic Sports

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Emily Bedy, MEd, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (WTEN, Spirit)ejbedy@ku.edu
Jeffrey Bord, MS, LAT, ATC, CSCSAssistant Athletic Trainer (T&F, XC)jtbord@ku.edu
Emily Calder, MS, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (ROW)encalder@ku.edu
Madison Corona, MA, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (WBB, WGOLF)mlcorona@ku.edu
Bill Cowgill, MEd, ATC, LATAssociate Director – Sports Medicine (MBB, MGOLF)bcowgill@ku.edu
Allison Florentino, MS, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (WSOC)aflo@ku.edu
Jacob Fouts, MEd, LAT, ATC, CSCSkAssistant Athletic Trainer (SB)jjfouts@ku.edu
David Lucia, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (VB,T&F)davidlucia@ku.edu
Danielle Meyer, MBA, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (ROW)danimeyer@ku.edu
Jace Puckett, MS, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (WSOC & BSB)j.puckett@ku.edu
Sindra Schueler, MEd, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (T&F, XC)schus@ku.edu
Jordan Stiers, MS, ATC, LAT, PESAssistant Athletic Trainer (S&D)jordanstiers@ku.edu
Samantha Thomas, MAT, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (MBB & WBB)s.thomas@ku.edu
Ken Wainwright, MS, LAT, ATCAssociate Athletic Trainer (BSB)864-7486kwain@ku.edu
Ann Wallace, MSE, ATC, LATAssociate Athletic Trainer (VB)amwallace@ku.edu

Sports Medicine – Football

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Trent Carter, MAT, LAT, ATCHead Football Athletic Trainert.carter@ku.edu
Madison Beene, DPT, PT, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)mrbeene@ku.edu
John Michel, MS, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)j.michel@ku.edu
Travis Pepper, MA, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)t.pepper@ku.edu

Sports Performance – Olympic Sports

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Luke BradfordDirector – Sports Performance (BSB, VB)bradfordl@ku.edu
Ramsey NijemDirector – Sports Performance (MBB)coachnijem@ku.edu
Ally GinkensAssistant Sports Performance Coach (WTEN, WGOLF, ROW)ally.ginkens@ku.edu
John BaumannAssistant Sports Performance Coach (T&F, XC)864-7489jbaumann@ku.edu
Janie KearlAssistant Sports Performance Coach (WBB, WSOC)janiekrl@ku.edu
Stryder BlackburnSports Performance Coach (WBB)stryder.blackburn@ku.edu
Stewart YoungAssistant Sports Performance Coach (T&F, XC)stewart.young@ku.edu
Alex SauzaStrength and Conditioning Graduate Assistant (ROW, Cheer, Dance, WGolf)asauza@kumc.edu

Sports Performance – Football

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Matt GildersleeveDirector of Sports Performance (FB)m_gildersleeve@ku.edu
Patrick HamptonAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)
Tanner MaherAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)
Conor McNallyAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)conormcnally@ku.edu
Eric ScottAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)

Performance Nutrition

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Natasha Hansen, MS, RD, CSSD, LDDirector of Performance Nutrition864-6610natasha.hansen@ku.edu
Jessica ProvostAssistant Dietitianjprovost@kumc.edu
Stacey PotterAssistant Dietitian (FB)
864-3392kansasfootball@ku.edu
Megan McCannPerformance Nutrition Assistant (FB) kansasfootball@ku.edu

Mental Health

NameTitlePhoneEmail Address
Kristie Baumchen, LMSW, LMACDirector of Mental Health Services864-4721kbaumchen@ku.edu
Jason Kraman, LSCSWStudent Athlete Mental Health Clinician331-9236jmkraman@ku.edu