Kansas Team Health

Kansas Athletics has launched a new model of student-athlete care believed to be the first of its kind among major collegiate athletics programs.

Kansas Athletics is collaborating with The University of Kansas Health System and LMH Health to launch Kansas Team Health, a new model of care that makes the resources of The University of Kansas Health System and LMH Health available to provide the best care possible for KU student-athletes, and clearly establishes the responsibility of care with medical professionals while minimizing potential conflicts of interest between coaches and sports medicine staff.

This new model transitions approximately 40 sports medicine staff – including physicians, athletic trainers, nutritionists, wellness coordinators and, most notably, strength and conditioning coaches – from Kansas Athletics to The University of Kansas Health System. As a result, staff members now fully report to medical professionals, rather than through a physician employed by the department and reporting to Kansas Athletics administrators. This is now a true medical oversight and healthcare compliance model.

The Kansas Team Health model is believed to be the first among major universities to incorporate strength and conditioning coaches.

“We knew we had a special opportunity to be innovative and get ahead of the curve,” Chancellor Douglas Girod said. “As a result, I believe we can tell all current and future student-athletes that they’re getting the best care and training in the country at the University of Kansas.”

The new model is the result of purposeful efforts by the University of Kansas and Kansas Athletics to provide the highest level of care to student-athletes. This change positions Kansas as a national leader in addressing concerns and challenges across college athletics related to athletics department reporting structures and medical care.

Administration

NameTitleEmail Address
Jarrod Harrall, DOHead Primary Care Physicianjarrodharrall@ku.edu
Jeffery Randall, MDHead Team Physician – Orthopedicjrandall-vfa@kumc.edu
Brian ConwaySenior Administratorconwayb@ku.edu
Brieanna BrennanOffice and Insurance ManagerBbrennan5@kumc.edu

Medical Providers

NameTitleEmail Address
Jarrod HarrallHead Primary Care Team Physicianjarrodharrall@ku.edu
Jeffery Randall, MDHead Team Physician – Orthopedicjrandall-vfa@kumc.edu
Luis Salazar, MDAssistant Team Physician – Primary Carelsalazar@ku.edu
Douglas Stull, MDAssistant Team Physician OrthopedicsDouglass.Stull@LMH.ORG
Stephan Prô, MDAssistant Team Physician Orthopedics
Erik Henkelman, MDAssistant Team Physician Orthopedicsehenkelman@kumc.edu
Polly Sheridan-Young, PA-CPhysician Assistantpsheridan@ku.edu

Sports Medicine – Olympic Sports

NameTitleEmail Address
Ann Wallace, MSE, ATC, LATAssociate Director of Athletic Training - Olympic Sports (VB)amwallace@ku.edu
Ken Wainwright, MS, LAT, ATCAssociate Director of Athletic Training - Olympic Sports (BSB)kwain@ku.edu
Bill Cowgill, MEd, ATC, LATAssociate Director – Sports Medicine (MBB, MGOLF)bcowgill@ku.edu
Emily Bedy, MEd, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (WTEN, Spirit)ejbedy@ku.edu
Emily Bromley, MS, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (ROW)ebromley@ku.edu
Emily Nelson, MAT, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (MBB, WBB)emilynelson5@ku.edu
Madison Corona, MA, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (WBB, WGOLF)mlcorona@ku.edu
Allison Florentino, MS, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (WSOC)aflo@ku.edu
Jacob Fouts, MEd, LAT, ATC, CSCSAssistant Athletic Trainer (SB)jjfouts@ku.edu
Ali Leal, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (BSB, SOC)aleal1@ku.edu
Kelly Arends, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (T&F, XC)karends3@ku.edu
Natasha Bieker MS, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (T&F, XC)nsbieker@ku.edu
David Lucia, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (VB,T&F)davidlucia@ku.edu
Sindra Schueler, MEd, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (ROW)schus@ku.edu
Frank Shipley, MS, ATC, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (S&D)frank.shipley@ku.edu
Olivia Trocano, MS, ATC, CSCS, LATAssistant Athletic Trainer (SB, Spirit Squad)olivia.trocano@ku.edu

Sports Medicine – Football

NameTitleEmail Address
Trent Carter, MAT, LAT, ATCDirector of Athletic Training - Footballt.carter@ku.edu
Madison Beene, DPT, PT, LAT, ATCAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)mrbeene@ku.edu
Cody DeardorffAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)cody.deardorff@ku.edu
Jake RosenfeldtAssistant Athletic Trainer (FB)jakerosenfeldt@ku.edu

Sports Performance – Olympic Sports

NameTitleEmail Address
Luke BradfordDirector – Sports Performance (BSB, VB)bradfordl@ku.edu
Ramsey NijemDirector – Sports Performance (MBB)coachnijem@ku.edu
Ally GinkensAssistant Sports Performance Coach (WTEN, WGOLF, ROW)ally.ginkens@ku.edu
John BaumannAssistant Sports Performance Coach (T&F, XC)jbaumann@ku.edu
Chuck HollwedelAssistant Sports Performance Coach (SB, ROW)
Taylor HynesAssistant Sports Performance Coach (SOC/S&D)tehynes@ku.edu
Stryder BlackburnSports Performance Coach (WBB)stryder.blackburn@ku.edu
Stewart YoungAssistant Sports Performance Coach (T&F, XC)stewart.young@ku.edu
Sam GrossStrength and Conditioning Graduate Assistant (ROW, Cheer, Dance, WGolf)sam.gross@ku.edu

Sports Performance – Football

NameTitleEmail Address
Matt GildersleeveDirector of Sports Performance (FB)m_gildersleeve@ku.edu
Patrick HamptonAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)phampton41@ku.edu
Conor McNallyAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)conormcnally@ku.edu
Eric ScottAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)eric.scott@ku.edu
Chula LoomisAssistant Sports Performance Coach (FB)cloomis42@ku.edu

Performance Nutrition

NameTitleEmail Address
Katie O'ConnorDirector of Sports Nutrition - Footballkeoconnor@ku.edu
Stacey PotterDirector of Performance Nutrition Olympic SportsStacey.potter@ku.edu
Megan McCannPerformance Nutrition Assistant (FB) m.mccan@ku.edu
Matt PolandPerformance Nutrition Assistant (WBB, SB, T&F, ROW)mjpoland@ku.edu

Mental Health

NameTitleEmail Address
Dr. Emily TylerExecutive Director Mental Health Servicesdr.emily@ku.edu
Kristie Baumchen, LSCSW, LCACDirector of Mental Health Serviceskbaumchen@ku.edu
Jason Kraman, LSCSWStudent Athlete Mental Health Clinicianjmkraman@ku.edu