KU Football Team Celebrates 2005 Season at Awards Banquet

Jan. 28, 2006

LAWRENCE, KAN. — Defensive end Charlton Keith and linebacker Nick Reid were honored as 2005 co-defensive MVPs at KU’s end of the year awards banquet Saturday night at the Lied Center. In addition, running back Jon Cornish (offense) and kicker Scott Webb (special teams) also earned MVP honors. Friends, family members and several hundred Jayhawk fans in attendance were also treated to video highlights and speeches from Head Coach Mark Mangino and University Chancellor Robert Hemenway.

Award winners include:
Senior Academic Scholar Award – Matt Thompson
Otto Schnellbacher Award, Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year – Kerry Meier and Micah Brown
George Mrkonic Award, Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – Jeff Wheeler and Caleb Blakesley
Offensive Lineman of the Year – David Ochoa
Iron Hawk Award, Outstanding Performance in the Weight Room – James McClinton
Most Improved Offensive Player – Brandon McAnderson
Most Improved Defensive Player – Jerome Kemp
Willie Pless Award, Most Tackles During the Season – Nick Reid
Nolan Cromwell Award, Leadership – Banks Floodman
Don Fambrough Award, Unselfish Player – Kevin Kane
Gale Sayers Award, Most Courageous Player – Bob Whitaker
Bruce Kallmeyer Award, Special Teams MVP – Scott Webb
John Hadl Award, Offensive MVP – Jon Cornish
Ray Evans Award, Defensive MVP – Charlton Keith and Nick Reid