Kansas Track and Field Announces 2009 Captains

Jan. 29, 2009

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas team captains for the 2009 track and field season have been named, head coach Stanley Redwine announced Thursday. Lauren Bonds, Sha’Ray Butler, Kelsey Erb, and Charity Stowers will lead the women, while Jordan Scott, Ryan Hays and Eric Fattig were selected to lead the men.

“I think they are definitely leaders, both on and off the track and field,” Redwine explained. “They are very respectful, and their teammates look up to them. The coaches respect everything they’ve done. They just seem to be leaders on the team.”

Butler, a senior from Lancaster, Texas, becomes the third female in Kansas history to be honored as a three-time captain. Libby Harmon (2006-08) and Rebecca McGranahan (1981-1983) were also captains for three years.

“Sha’Ray is a special person,” Redwine said. “She is definitely a team-oriented person. You ask for someone to give something for the team, she is the first one in line. We definitely respect everything she’s done. She’s a great leader, and when she leaves here I think she is going to do a really good job.”

Bonds, a junior from Hutchinson, Kan., is now a captain for the second consecutive year, while Erb (junior) and Stowers (senior) are both first-time captains for the women’s team.

For the men’s team, Scott, a junior from Watkinsville, Ga., is now a two-time captain while Hays (junior) and Fattig (senior) each hold the honor for the first time.

The Jayhawks are back in action on Saturday as they take on Nebraska, Florida State, Wichita State, Alabama, Minnesota and Illinois at the Adidas Classic in Lincoln, Neb. The meet is hosted by Nebraska, and will begin at 1:30 p.m. CST.