Kansas Football Names 2006 Award Winners

Feb. 5, 2007

LAWRENCE, Kan. — Cornerback Aqib Talib was named defensive MVP while running back Jon Cornish and center David Ochoa shared offensive MVP honors at KU’s end of the year football awards banquet Saturday afternoon. In addition, running back Brandon McAnderson was named special teams MVP.

Both Cornish and Talib earned All-Big 12 First Team honors following the 2006 season. Cornish, a native of New Westminster, B.C., led the Big 12 with a school-record 1,457 rushing yards and averaged a school-record 5.8 yards per carry. Talib led the nation in passes defended with an average of 2.80 break-ups per game and tied for the Big 12 lead with six interceptions. Both McAnderson and Ochoa were named All-Big 12 Second-Team.

As a team, the Jayhawks ranked among the nation’s best in 2006 in several categories including punt return average (11th, 13.5 ypr), scoring offense (29th, 29.0 ppg), rushing offense (19th, 176.6 ypg) and rush defense (28th, 109.0 ypg).

Kansas ended the regular-season as one of the hottest teams in the Big 12, claiming victories in three of its final four games of the season, including a 39-20 victory over in-state rival Kansas State. KU’s three-game win streak over Colorado, Iowa State and Kansas State marked the first time in school history the Jayhawks had won three consecutive Big 12 games.

2006 Football Award winners:
Senior Academic Scholar Award – Jonathan Lamb
Otto Schnellbacher Award – Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year – Tyler Lawrence
George Mrkonic Award – Scout Team Defensive Player of the Year – Richard Alspaugh and Maxwell Onyegbule
Offensive Lineman of the Year – David Ochoa
Iron Hawk Award-Outstanding Performance in the Weight Room – James Holt
Most Improved Offensive Player – Anthony Collins
Most Improved Defensive Player – James McClinton
Galen Fiss Award-Exemplary Service to the Campus and Community – Mike Rivera
Willie Pless Award-Most Tackles for the Season – Mike Rivera
Nolan Cromwell Award-Leadership – David Ochoa
Don Fambrough Award-Unselfish Player – Dominic Roux
Gale Sayers Award-Most Courageous Player – Brandon McAnderson and Derek Fine
Bruce Kallmeyer Award-Special Teams MVP – Brandon McAnderson
John Hadl Award-Offense MVP – Jon Cornish and David Ochoa
Ray Evans Award-Defensive MVP – Aqib Talib

— KU —