14 Named to Academic All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving Team

Feb. 21, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. — The Big 12 Conference named 14 Kansas swimmers and divers to the Academic All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving team. Among the 104 honored was sophomore Sierra Slavin, a native of Shawnee, Kan. Slavin was one of six student-athletes with a 4.0 GPA.

Those named to the first team include: junior Kristi Hansen (Shawnee, Kan.), sophomore Lindsay Herre (Overland Park, Kan.), senior Robyn Karlage (Edgewood, Ky.), junior Shelby Noonan (Edmond, Okla.), junior Lia Pogioli (Peoria, Ill.), senior Emily Rusch (Urbana, Ill.), sophomore Terri Schramka (Madison, Wisc.), junior Jenny Short (Olathe, Kan.), junior Lisa Tilson (Mercer Island, Wash.), junior Tricia Tindall (Morristown, Tenn.), senior Lindsey Urbatchka (Sheridan, Wyo.) and Slavin.

Sophomore Lauren Bonfe (Fairhope, Ala.) and sophomore Allie Rubino (Charleston, S.C.) were each named to the second team.

“We are proud of the members of our team who received this honor,” head coach Clark Campbell said. “One thing we stress is they are students first and then athletes and this is a big accomplishment. We are proud of our students who excell in the classroom.”

The women’s team had 63 student-athletes named to the first-team and 10 to the second-team. To be nominated for first team, members must maintain a GPA of 3.2 or better and second-team members must maintain a GPA between 3.00 and 3.19. Student-athletes must also participate in 60 percent of their team’s contests.

The Jayhawks will begin competition at the Big 12 Championships Feb. 22-25. The four-day event consists of preliminary races in the morning and final races in the evening. For complete results following each day of competition, go to www.kuathletics.com.

Academic All-Big 12 Members

First Team

Kristi Hansen Jr. Shawnee, Kan.

Lindsay Herre So. Overland Park, Kan.

Robyn Karlage Sr. Edgewood, Ky.

Shelby Noonan Jr. Edmond, Okla.

Lia Pogioli Jr. Peoria, Ill.

Emily Rusch Sr. Urbana, Ill.

Terri Schramka So Madison, Wis.

Jenny Short Jr. Olathe, Kan.

Lisa Tilson Jr. Mercer Island, Wash.

Tricia Tindall Jr. Morristown, Tenn.

Lindsey Urbatchka Sr. Sheridan, Wyo.

* Sierra Slavin So. Shawnee, Kan.

Second Team

Lauren Bonfe So. Fairhope, Ala.

Allie Rubino So. Charleston, S.C.

* denotes a 4.0 GPA