KU Tennis Sweeps Iowa State, 7-0

March 5, 2005

Ames, Iowa – The University of Kansas tennis team defeated Iowa State, 7-0, Saturday in Ames, Iowa. With the win, the Jayhawks improve to 2-7 overall and 1-1 in Big 12 play.

KU got off to a quick start by winning the doubles point with three victories. Sophomore Brittany Brown and freshman Lauren Hommell earned a victory over Iowa State’s Jill Palen and Elizabeth Chermel, 8-6, in No. 1 doubles. Junior Christine Skoda and sophomore Ashley Filberth won their match over Danielle Uscinski and Chrissy Derouin, 8-4, while junior Luiza Loureiro and freshman Elizaveta Avdeeva defeated Charlotte Ljungkrantz and Caitlin Loprinzi by default.

KU went 6-0 in singles competition to complete the sweep of the Cyclones. In No. 1 singles, Avdeeva won her third singles match in a row by downing Palen from ISU, 6-4, 6-4. At No. 2, Skoda came from behind to defeat Uscinski in a third-set tiebreaker, 5-7, 6-4, 1-0 (7), while Brown earned a straight-set victory over the Cyclones’ Chermel, 6-4, 6-0, at No. 3.

Hommell continued the teams’ strong performence with a 4-6, 6-1, 6-3 won over Derouin, in No. 4 singles. Filberth notched a victory over ISU’s Ljungkrantz 6-2, 6-3, while freshman Stephanie Smith won by default over Loprinzi.

“I am very proud of our performance today,” KU head coach Amy Hall-Holt said. “We really competed well today and I hope we can keep up the enthusiasm and motivation for tomorrow’s match.”

The Jayhawks will play against Iowa on Sunday, in Iowa City, Iowa. The match is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m.

-Results Follow-


Elizaveta Avdeeva (Kansas) def. Jill Palen (ISU) 6-4, 6-4

Christine Skoda (Kansas) def. Danielle Uscinski (ISU) 5-7, 6-4, 1-0 (7)

Brittany Brown (Kansas) def. Elizabeth Chermel (ISU) 6-4, 6-0

Lauren Hommell (Kansas) def. Chrissy Derouin (ISU) 4-6, 6-1, 6-3

Ashley Filberth (Kansas) def. Charlotte Ljungkrantz (ISU) 6-2, 6-3

Stephanie Smith (Kansas) def. Caitlin Loprinzi (ISU) Default


Brown/Hommell (Kansas) def. Palen/Chermel (ISU) 8-6

Skoda/Filberth (Kansas) def. Uscinski/Derouin (ISU) 8-4

Loureiro/Avdeeva (Kansas) def. Ljungkrantz/Loprinzi (ISU) Default