Jayhawks Honored for Work in the Classroom

March 5, 2013

Lage Award ListGet Acrobat Reader

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Nine Kansas Jayhawks were among 75 student-athletes honored with the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor when the league announced the recipients of the Dr. Gerald Lage Award Tuesday.

KU seniors Marianne Beal (volleyball), Heather Bergmann (Track and Field), Lauren Hagan (Volleyball), Brandon Hawks (Football), Maggie Hull (Softball), Rosie Hull (Softball), Karen Schneider (Track & Field), and Rebecca Swank (Swimming & Diving), along with junior Alex Jones (Softball), will all receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships for earning a cumulative GPA of 3.80 in at least 100 credit hours of completed coursework.

The award is named after Dr. Gerald Lage who was a member of the faculty at Oklahoma State from 1966-2004 and was the OSU faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. The honor, of the Conference’s highest academic award on Tuesday by recognizing 75 student-athletes from throughout the Big 12.

The nine student-athletes honored was fourth most in the conference, behind Baylor (14), West Virginia (11) and Iowa State (10).

KUAthletics.com: The official online source for Kansas Athletics, Williams Education Fund contributions, tickets, merchandise, multimedia, photos and much, much more.