Collins, Aldrich Named USBWA All-Americans

March 15, 2010


Kansas men’s basketball players Sherron Collins and Cole Aldrich were honored as members of the 2009-10 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team, it was announced Monday. Collins was selected to the first team, while Aldrich received second-team honors.

Each of the 10 selections for this prestigious list is among the 16 Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA’s National Player of the Year Award will be announced March 22 and presented on Friday, April 2, at the 2010 USBWA College Basketball Awards Breakfast at the Columbia Club in Indianapolis.

This marks the second year in a row Collins has been named to the USBWA All-America Team, as he was a second-team selection in 2009. The Chicago guard leads the Jayhawks this season in points per game (15.6), total assists (151) and total three pointers (68). He was recently named the Big 12 Championship Most Outstanding Player, as he averaged 19 points and 6.7 assists in KU’s three victories. In addition to an Oscar Robertson Trophy finalist, Collins is also a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, which will be announced April 1.

Aldrich, a native of Bloomington, Minn., averages 11.2 points per game and a team-leading 9.9 rebounds per game. Aldrich has also tallied 118 blocked shots this season, which is the KU single-season record. In the last 16 games, Aldrich has recorded eight double-doubles. He was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year, as well as the 2010 Academic All-American of the Year.

Collins, Aldrich and the rest of the No. 1 ranked Jayhawk basketball team will begin NCAA tournament action on Thursday, March 18 when it takes on Lehigh at the Ford Center in Oklahoma City, Okla. Tip-off is set for approximately 8:40 p.m. central time.

2009-10 USBWA Men’s All-America Team

First Team
Sherron Collins, G, Kansas, Sr.
Wesley Johnson, F, Syracuse, Jr.
Scottie Reynolds, G, Villanova, Sr.
Evan Turner, G/F, Ohio State, Jr.
John Wall, G, Kentucky, Fr.
Second Team

Cole Aldrich, C, Kansas, Jr.
James Anderson, G, Oklahoma State, Jr.
DeMarcus Cousins, F, Kentucky, Fr.
Luke Harangody, F, Notre Dame, Sr.
Jon Scheyer, G, Duke, Sr.