KU's Brorsen And Larson Named To Lott Award Watch List

April 4, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas starting defensive ends Russell Brorsen and John Larson are among 42 of the nation’s top collegiate defensive players who have been named to the 2008 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced Friday.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Brorsen is a 6-4, 240-pound senior from Stillwater, Okla., who had 36 tackles last season. He is a first-team academic All-American with a 3.96 grade point average in chemistry. Larson is a 6-3, 250-pound senior from Shawnee Mission, Kan., who had 43 tackles, including 12 for losses. He, too, is an academic All-American (second team), carrying a GPA of 3.69 in economics.

There are seven repeat nominees for the award, including James Laurinaitis of OhioState, a finalist last year. The other players nominated for a second straight year are Jonathan Casillas of Wisconsin, Brian Cushing of USC, Maurice Crum, Jr. of Notre Dame, Zack Follett of Cal, Nic Harris of Oklahoma and Darryl Richard of Georgia Tech.

Thirty-five different schools are represented on the Watch List.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its fourth year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005 Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006 and Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007. Georgia, Alabama, Cal and LSU each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In four years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated more than $450,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisers comprised of many retired NFL players and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. on December 14, 2008.

For further information on the Lott Trophy, please visit their website at Lotttrophy.com.

The 2008 Lott Trophy Watch List

Asher Allen, CB, Georgia, Jr., 5-10, 198 (Tucker, Ga.)

Ted Bentler, DT, Army, Sr., 6-3, 251 (Bettendorf. Iowa)

Eric Berry, DB, Tennessee, So., 5-11, 195 (Fairburn, Ga.)

Russell Brorsen, DE, Kansas, Sr., 6-4, 240 (Stillwater, Okla.)

Reggie Carter, LB, UCLA, Jr., 6-1, 220 (Los Angeles, Calif.)

Jonathan Casillas, LB, Wisconsin, Sr., 6-2, 214 (New Brunswick, N.J.)

Maurice Crum, Jr., LB, Notre Dame, Sr., 6-0, 225 (Riverview, Fla.)

Aaron Curry, LB, WakeForest, Sr., 6-3, 240 (Fayetville, N.C.)

Brian Cushing, LB, USC, Sr., 6-4, 245 (Park Ridge, N.J.)

Zack Follett, LB, Cal, Sr., 6-2, 237 (Clovis, Calif.)

Courtney Greene, S, Rutgers, Sr., 6-2, 210 (New Rochelle, N.Y.)

Nic Harris, DB, Oklahoma, Sr., 6-3, 226 (Alexandria, La.)

Mark Herzlich, LB, BostonCollege, Jr., 6-4, 238 (Wayne, Pa.)

Brandon Hughes, CB, OregonState, Sr., 5-11, 182 (Bloomington, Ind.)

George Hypolite, DE, Colorado, Sr., 6-1, 285 (Los Angeles, Calif.)

Jeremy Jarmon, DE, Kentucky, Jr., 6-3, 268 (Collierville, Tenn.)

Malcolm Jenkins, CB, OhioState, Sr., 6-1, 208 (Piscataway, N.J.)

Jan Jorgensen, DE, BYU, Jr., 6-3, 260, (Helper, Utab)

Mitch King, DT, Iowa, Sr., 6-3, 264 (Burlington, Iowa)

John Larson, DL, Kansas, Sr., 6-3, 250 (ShawneeMission, Kan.)

James Laurinaitis, LB, OhioState, Sr., 6-3, 244 (Hamel, Minn.)

Taylor Mays, S, USC, Jr., 6-4, 225 (Seattle, Wash.)

Tyrone McKenzie, LB, South Florida, Sr., 6-2, 235 (Riverview, Fla.)

Bo McNally, S, Stanford, Sr., 6-0, 208 (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Greg Middleton, DE, Indiana, Jr., 6-3, 275 (Indianapolis, Ind.)

Scott Mikillop, LB, Pitt, Sr., 6-2, 240 (Export, Pa.)

Brit Miller, LB, Illinois, Sr., 6-1, 251 (Decatur, Ill.)

William Moore, S, Missouri, Sr., 6-1, 215 (Hayti, Mo.)

Troy Nolan, S, ArizonaState, Sr., 6-2, 204 (Los Angeles, Calif.)

Eric Norwood, DE, South Carolina, Jr., 6-0, 258 (Acworth, Ga.)

Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas, Sr., 6-4, 260 (Houston, Texas)

Jeff Owens, DT, Georgia, Sr., 6-3, 298 (Sunrise, Fla.)

Kirston Pittman, DE, LSU, Sr., 6-4, 252 (Garyville, La.)

Zach Potter, DE, Nebraska, Sr., 6-7, 285 (Omaha, Neb.)

Nick Reed, DE, Oregon, Sr., 6-2, 255 (Trabuco Canyon, Calif.)

Darryl Richard, DT, Georgia Tech, Sr., 6-4, 285 (Destrehan, La.)

Myron Rolle, DB, FloridaState, Jr., 6-2, 215 (Galloway, N.J.)

George Selvie, DE, South Florida, Jr., 6-4, 242 (Pensacola, Fla.)

Brandon Spikes, LB, Florida, Jr., 6-3, 245 (Shelby, N.C.)

Alterraun Verner, DB, UCLA, Jr., 5-11, 178 (Carson, Calif.)

Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Missouri, Jr., 6-1, 230 (Jasper, Texas)

Reed Williams, LB, West Virginia, Sr., 6-2, 225 (Moorefield, WVa.)