Self Garners Another National Honor, CBS/Chevrolet Coach of the Year

April 4, 2009

DETROIT, Mich. – Kansas men’s basketball head coach Bill Self has been busy during his trip to the Final Four in Detroit as Saturday he was named the CBS/Chevrolet Coach of the Year as chosen by the CBS talent and production staff.

Self spent his Friday in Detroit also collecting awards. His day started at the Detroit Athletic Club where he received the Henry P. Iba Coach of the Year Award presented by the United State Basketball Writers of America. Later that morning he was named the Associated Press Coach of the Year. Like the CBS/Chevrolet award presented at halftime of the NCAA National Semifinal between Michigan State and Connecticut, Self received the honor along with Oklahoma forward Blake Griffin who was named the CBS/Chevrolet Player of the Year. In winning the honor, CBS and Chevrolet will contribute to both the general scholarship funds at the University of Kansas and the University of Oklahoma in Self’s and Griffin’s names.

Self lost all five starters from the team that beat Memphis in the championship game in 2008, leaving him to work with two veterans and eight newcomers.

The Jayhawks finished 27-8 and reached the round of 16 in the NCAA Tournament for the third straight season and 26th time overall, while winning the Big 12 title for the fifth straight season with a 14-2 conference mark.

Self has a 169-40 record in six seasons at Kansas and is 376-145 in 16 seasons as a head coach. He has guided the Jayhawks to three NCAA Elite Eights and one Final Four, in which KU won the 2008 NCAA National Championship.

This marks the ninth national coach of the year honor Self has received this season.

Bill Self Awards in 2008-09

-Yahoo! Sports National Coach of the Year

-Big 12 Coach of the Year

-Sporting News National Coach of the Year

-Athlon Sports National Coach of the Year National Coach of the Year

-Naismith Coach of the Year Award finalist

-Henry P. Iba Award (national coach of the year by the USBWA)

-Associated Press National Coach of the Year

-CBS/Chevrolet Coach of the Year