Women's Basketball Hands Out Awards At Annual Reception

April 23, 2009


The University of Kansas women’s basketball team held its’ postseason awards reception and senior celebration Thursday night in the Kansas Union Ballroom.

Senior guard Katie Smith received the Ms. Jayhawk award given to the player who embodies the spirit and vision of the Kansas women’s basketball program. It marked the third-straight year Smith has taken home the award. Richard Quin, of Lawrence, received the Jayhawk MOP (Most Outstanding Person) award given to a member in the community who has made a tremendous impact on the program.

Other awards announced during the banquet included senior Ivana Catic earning the Lew Perkins Leadership Award for the second-consecutive season, freshman Aishah Sutherland was named Most Improved, junior Danielle McCray earned the Jayhawk “Toughness” Award, junior Sade Morris was given the Best Defender Award, while junior Rebecca Feickert earned the Academic Pride Award for the third-consecutive season.

Catic, Feickert (4.0), junior Kelly Kohn, Smith and senior Marijia Zinic were honored for being named to the All-Big 12 Academic First Team this season. It was also announced that Zinic, Kohn, Smith, Catic, Feickert, McCray, junior Porscha Weddington and freshman Angel Goodrich were named to the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll, while McCray also was sited for her national awards and Big 12 First Team award.

Thursday Night’s Award Winners

Jayhawk MOP- Richard Quin

Athletic Director’s Honor Roll- Ivana Catic, Katie Smith, Marija Zinic, Rebecca Feickert, Kelly Kohn, Danielle McCray, Porscha Weddington and Angel Goodrich

Big 12 Academic Award- Ivana Catic, Rebecca Feickert, Kelly Kohn, Katie Smith and Marija Zinic

Big 12 Athletic Honor- Danielle McCray (First Team)

National Awards- Danielle McCray (State Farm Honorable Mention All-America, Associated Press Honorable Mention All-America)

Academic Pride Award- Rebecca Feickert

Best Defender- Sade Morris

Jayhawk “Toughness” Award- Danielle McCray

Most Improved- Aishah Sutherland

Lew Perkins Leadership Award- Ivana Catic

Ms. Jayhawk Award- Katie Smith