Swimming and Diving Holds Award Ceremony

May 2, 2009


Kansas swimming officially concluded its successful 2008-09 season with the team’s annual award and senior recognition banquet Saturday afternoon in the Relays Room of the Burge Union. After recognizing the nine seniors, head coach Clark Campbell honored four swimmers with team individual awards.

Senior Maria Mayrovich walked away with the Tammy Thomas MVP award following a spectacular senior season. Mayrovich is the school-record holder in the 200 yard freestyle and qualified for the NCAA Championships in College Station, Texas.

Sophomore Joy Bunting grabbed her third individual team award in her short career with the Karen Dionne award, presented to the most inspirational member of the team. Bunting is a repeat winner of the award.

Sophomore Iuliia Kuzhil was named the team’s Newcomer of the Year award winner. In Kuzhil’s first season as a Jayhawk, she qualified for the NCAA Championship and is the school-record holder in the 100 and 200 yard backstroke events.

Senior Jes Brozek snagged the team’s Academic award winner. Brozek Was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team with a 4.0 GPA for the third straight year in 2008-09.

Please check back with kuathletics.com for all of the latest news on the Kansas swimming and diving program.