Three Jayhawks Named to All-Conference Second Team

May 10, 2007


Senior Kassie Humphreys, sophomore Stevie Crisosto and freshman Amanda Jobe were named to the All-Big 12 Second Team on Thursday night in <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Oklahoma City. Sophomore Val Chapple was named to the All-Big 12 Academic First Team. Humphreys, senior Nicole Washburn, junior Betsy Wilson and sophomore Erika Simington were named to the All-Big 12 Academic Second Team.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

It is the second year in a row that Humphreys was recognized by the Big 12 for her outstanding play on the field. A 2006 First Team All-Big 12 selection, Humphreys is tied for sixth in the Big 12 with 18 wins, fourth with 185.1 innings pitched, sixth for complete games with 17 and shutouts with six. Humphreys leads the Big 12 in saves (five) and is second in appearances (41). She ranks third in strikeouts (216) and fifth in opponent batting average (.194). It is also the second consecutive year that Humphreys was named to the All-Big 12 Academic Second Team.

Crisosto and Jobe were named to an All-Big 12 team for the first time in their careers. Crisosto is third on the team with a .451 slugging percentage and leads the team in total bases with 73 and batting average (.302). Jobe leads team with 28 walks and has drawn the fourth most free passes in Big 12 play with 11. She is second on the team in batting average (.296), third in home runs (five), second in slugging percentage (.452) and first in on base percentage (.419).

All-Big 12 Academic First Team selection Chapple is one of only four players in the conference to have a perfect 4.0 GPA. The others are Missouri’s Kathy Masterson, Nebraska’s Molly Hill and Oklahoma’s Stacia Aleman.

Washburn was named to the All-Big 12 Academic Second Team for the third straight year. It is both Wilson and Simington’s first time to be recognized as an All-Big 12 Academic performer.

Other notable All-Big 12 award winners:

Player of the Year: Norrelle Dickson, Oklahoma, 3B, Sr., Orange, Calif./El Modena

Co-Pitchers of the Year: Lauren Eckermann, Oklahoma, RHP, Jr., Brenham, Texas/TempleJC

Amanda Scarborough, Texas A&M, P/1B, Jr., Magnolia, Texas/Magnolia

Freshman of the Year: Kirsten Shortridge, Baylor, P/RF Fr., Keller, Texas/Keller

Defensive Player of the Year: Megan Willis, Texas, C, Sr., Chandler, Ariz./Corona del Sol

Coach of the Year: Ehren Earleywine, Missouri

For a complete list of award winners please click here.

Kansas will open the tournament Friday morning at 11 a.m. against IowaState. A Jayhawk victory would lead to a match-up with No. 2/3 Oklahoma at 4:30 on FSN.