Kansas Rowing Holds Team Banquet

May 11, 2010


Nine graduating seniors were honored and eight awards were handed out during the University of Kansas rowing year-end banquet held Sunday at Maceli’s restaurant in Lawrence.

During the presentation, KU bid farewell to graduating seniors Katie Beall, Brittany Belford, Brittany Francis, Abby Green, Kelly Miller, Lindsey Lawrence, Stacy Rachow, Erin Sargent and Kaitlin Squier. Beall, Green, Lawrence, Rachow and Sargent also received the senior academic award. In addition, the team academic award was handed out to Rachow, along with senior Megan Foster and junior Nicole Schneider for earning a 4.0 GPA. Foster has maintained her perfect GPA for seven consecutive semesters, while Rachow has earned the mark for six-straight terms. Schneider has held a 4.0 score for three consecutive semesters.

Several other team awards were also handed out during the banquet including most improved oarswoman, which was presented to junior Allison Able. Freshman Kourtney Welch earned most improved newcomer.

Olivia Kinet, a freshman, was awarded outstanding newcomer. The Essence of a Jayhawk award was given to junior Cassie Sparks. Before the evening was over, Lawrence received the oarswoman of the year award and junior Elise Langtry took home the coxswain award.

The Jayhawks still have several races awaiting them this spring. This weekend, May 15-16, Kansas travels to the South-Central Regional Regatta in Oak Ridge, Tenn., where it will participate in the first Conference USA Rowing Championship.