Nationally Ranked Kansas Track And Field Teams Head To 2010 Big 12 Outdoor Championships

May 12, 2010


Meet Notes in PDF Format

Kansas’ men’s and women’s track and field teams will travel to Columbia, Mo., May 14-16 for the 2010 Big 12 Outdoor Championships held at Audrey J. Walton Stadium on the campus of the University of Missouri. One of the most prestigious meets in the nation, this year’s championships will feature a combined 13 teams ranked in the men’s and women’s USTFCCCA Top 25 rankings.

The Jayhawks enter the meet ranked 19th in the country on the men’s side and 25th in the national rankings on the women’s side. KU is looking to improve on its 2010 Big 12 Indoor Championship finishes. The Jayhawk women finished fifth in the indoor meet, while the men were 10th.

Junior pole vaulter Jordan Scott and freshman thrower Mason Finley will spearhead the KU men’s team’s effort in Columbia. Scott is the 2007 Big 12 Outdoor Champion in the pole vault and was the runner-up in the event in 2008. He currently leads the Big 12 and is tied for first in the NCAA with his height of 18-8.75. Finley enters the meet ranked first in the shot put and second in the discus in the conference. He is also a two-time Big 12 performer of the week honoree during the outdoor season.

Additionally on the men’s side, Iain Trimble enters the meet with the fifth-best mark in the javelin and Brian Bishop is ranked seventh in the conference in the discus. Other KU men ranked in the Big 12 top 10 entering the meet are Keith Hayes (eighth, 110m hurdles), Kyle Clemons (ninth, 400m), Austin Bussing (sixth, 3,000m steeplechase), Eric Fattig (eighth, long jump) and Ryan Hays (ninth, pole vault).

On the women’s side, KU will look to freshmen Andrea Geubelle and Alena Krechyk in the field and Lauren Bonds and Rebeka Stowe on the track to guide the Jayhawks. Geubelle enters the meet ranked first in the conference in the triple jump. Her mark of 43-11.25 also ranks second in the NCAA. Krechyk also leads the Big 12 as she ranks first in the hammer throw with her toss of 211-10. Her mark is also good for third in the NCAA.

Bonds enters the Big 12 Championships with the conference’s second-best time in the 1,500 meters as she was clocked at 4:17.27 in her last race at the Payton Jordan Invitational (May 1), while Stowe ranks fourth in the 3,000 meters steeplechase prior to the league meet. She ran a personal best and KU record 10:15.92 in her last outing, which was also the Payton Jordan Invitational.

Other Jayhawk women entering the meet in the top 10 in the conference are Taissa Makhmayeva (fifth, 400m hurdles), Elizabeth Beisner (eighth, high jump), Julia Cummings (10th, pole vault), Heather Bergmann (eighth, javelin) and Rebecca Neville (third, heptathlon).

The 2010 Big 12 Championships will kick-off Friday, May 14 with the 10,000 meter races and will conclude Sunday, May 16 with the running of the 4×400 meter relays.

KU Men’s Big 12 Championships Lineup

Josh Baden (5,000m, 10,000m)

Brian Bishop (shot put, discus)

Austin Bussing (3,000m steeplechase, 5,000m)

Nick Canton (high jump)

Nick Caprario (5,000m, 10,000m)

Reggie Carter (400m, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Kyle Clemons (400m, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Eric Fattig (long jump, triple jump, 4x100m)

Mason Finley (shot put, discus)

Chandler Frigon (400m hurdles, 400m)

Corey Fuller (triple jump)

Keith Hayes (400m hurdles, 110m hurdles, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Ryan Hays (pole vault)

Bret Imgrund (1,500m, 5,000m)

Sam Jones (800m)

Joel Krause (shot put)

Cooper Merrill (pole vault)

Lawson Montgomery (110m hurdles)

Keyen Porter (110m hurdles, 4x100m)

Jarrell Rollins (400m, 4x400m)

Nate Scherzer (high jump)

Jordan Scott (pole vault)

Corey Shank (pole vault)

Jareb Stallbaumer (long jump)

Keron Toussaint (400m, 800m, 4x400m)

Iain Trimble (javelin)

Darryl Trotter (triple jump)

Donny Wasinger (1,500m, 5,000m)

Zach Zarda (800m)

KU Women’s Big 12 Championships Lineup

Elizabeth Beisner (high jump)

Heather Bergmann (javelin)

Lauren Bonds (1,500m, 5,000m)

Kendra Bradley (400m, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Cori Christensen (800m)

Kate Colvin (pole vault)

Julia Cummings (pole vault)

Sasha Cunningham (400m)

Andrea Geubelle (long jump, triple jump, 4x100m)

Abby Jones (pole vault)

Allison Knoll (5,000m)

Alena Krechyk (hammer throw)

Kathryn Lupton (400m, 100m hurdles)

Taissa Makhamayva (400m hurdles, 4x400m)

Allie Marquis (5,000m, 10,000m)

Amanda Miller (5,000m, 10,000m)

Denesha Morris (4x100m, 4x400m)

Rebecca Neville (heptathlon, 4x100m)

Jaci Perryman (pole vault)

Rebeka Stowe (3,000m steeplechase, 5,000m)

Tessa Turcotte (5,000m)

Tara Turnbull (pole vault)

Taylor Washington (400m, 4x100m, 4x400m)

Micah Wesley (shot put, discus)

Shayla Wilson (400m, 4x400m)