Kansas Track & Field Lands 27 Jayhawks on 2008 Academic All-Big 12 Teams

May 13, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>LAWRENCE, Kan. – Junior Eric Fattig’s 4.0 grade point average led a group of 27 University of Kansas track and field student-athletes named to the 2008 Academic All-Big 12 teams as announced by the conference on Tuesday.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Fattig, an engineering major and Kearney, Neb., native, was joined by 14 women and six men on the conference’s first teams. The Jayhawks also added another five men and two women on the second teams.

Among the 234 student-athletes receiving the honor, Kansas’ 27 representatives stands as the second-most among the conference (Nebraska – 38). It marked the second selection for senior Egor Agafonov, juniors Emily Reimer and Sha’Ray Butler, sophomore Megan James and Fattig. Seniors Ashley Brown, Libby Harmon, Paul Hefferon and Colby Wissel earned their way onto the list for the third time with this being Hefferon’s first time on the first team.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The 2008 Big 12 Outdoor Track & Field Championships will take place at Potts Field in Boulder Colo., Friday-Sunday, May 16-18. It will mark the first time Colorado has hosted the event.

Kansas on the All-Big 12 List

Men – First Team

Egor Agafonov, Sr. Economics Togliatti, Russia

Eric Fattig, Jr. Engineering Kearney, Neb.

Chandler Frigon, So. Political Science/Pre-Law Highlands Ranch, Colo.

Paul Hefferon, Sr. Business Overland Park, Kan.

Levi Huseman, Jr. Secondary Education/Science Tonganoxie, Kan.

Jacob Breth, So. Business Management Wichita, Kan.

Men – Second Team

Josh Kirk, Sr. Sports Management Olathe, Kan.

Jacob Breth, So. Business Management Wichita, Kan.

Nate Scherzer, So. Physical Therapy Overland Park, Kan.

Jordan Scott, So. Graphic Design Watkinsville, Ga.

Colby Wissel, Sr. Business Elm Creek, Neb.

Women – First Team

Lauren Bonds, So. Political Science Hutchinson, Kan.

Ashley Brown, Sr. Exercise Science Overton, Neb.

Sha’Ray Butler, Jr. Pre-Medicine and Human Biology Lancaster, Texas

Kaitlyn Coen, So. Accounting and Finance Hays, Kan.

Kelsey Erb, So. Speech Language/Hearing Sciences and Disorders Bucklin, Kan.

Cydney Gaines, Jr. Communication Studies and French Bellevue, Neb.

Rachel Gruenbacher, So. Nursing Lenexa, Kan.

Claire Hall, So. Exercise Science Iowa City, Iowa

Libby Harmon, Sr. Political Science Overland Park, Kan.

Chelsea Helm, So. Early Childhood Education Tulsa, Okla.

Megan James, So. Exercise Science Kansas City, Mo.

Mary Lacy, So. Accounting Houston, Texas

Lisa Morrisey, Sr. Journalism Ottawa, Kan.

Emily Reimer, Jr. Architectural Engineering Wichita, Kan.

Women – Second Team

Hayley Harbert, Sr. Secondary English Education Shawnee, Kan.

Britany Parker, So. Physical Therapy McKinney, Texas