Montgomery Honored by Big 12

May 14, 2010


Kansas softball freshman Mariah Montgomery was named to the All-Big 12 Second Team, it was announced Friday by the conference office. The honors were voted on by the league’s head coaches, who were not allowed to vote for their own players.

The Ralston, Neb., native started all 55 games this season and led the Jayhawks with a .294 batting average during conference play. Montgomery was also one of the team’s top offensive producers during the second half of the season. Over the last 14 games the shortstop hit .395 and had a .480 on base percentage. Montgomery leads the team with 11 doubles and her 25 walks are tied for the ninth-most single-season walks in school history.

Montgomery becomes the first All-Big 12 selection since former player Dougie McCaulley earn second team honors in 2009.

The Big 12 Conference named Texas head coach Connie Clark Coach of the Year. Oklahoma senior Amber Flores earned Player of the Year honors. Freshman Blair Luna (Texas) took home Pitcher and Player of the Year accolades. Senior Lindsey Vandever of Oklahoma State was named Defensive Player of the Year.

2010 Big 12 Softball Postseason Awards

Coach of the Year- Connie Clark, Texas

Player of the Year- Amber Flores, Oklahoma

Pitcher of the Year- Blaire Luna, Texas

Freshman of the Year- Blair Luna, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year- Lindsey Vandever, Oklahoma State

All-Big 12 First Team

Kayce Walker, Baylor

Nicole Wesley, Baylor

Courtney Wray, Iowa State

Ashley Fleming, Missouri

Jenna Marston, Missouri

Rhea Taylor, Missouri

Ashley Guile, Nebraska

Amber Flores, Oklahoma

Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma

Jessica Shults, Oklahoma

Lindsey Vandever, Oklahoma

Kat Espinosa, Oklahoma State

Alysia Hamilton, Oklahoma State

Lexy Bennett, Texas

Taylor Hoagland, Texas

Blaire Luna, Texas

Nadia Taylor, Texas

Rhiannon Kliesing, Texas A&M

Meagan May, Texas A&M

All-Big 12 Second Team

Kelsey Kidwell, Iowa State

Mariah Montgomery, Kansas

Nicole Hudson, Missouri

Catherine Lee, Missouri

Nikki Haget, Nebraska

Brooke Thomason, Nebraska

Haley Nix, Oklahoma

Katie Norris, Oklahoma

Chelsea Garcia, Oklahoma State

Julie Ward, Oklahoma State

Anna Whiddon, Oklahoma State

Courtney Craig, Texas

Amy Hooks, Texas

Melissa Dumezich, Texas A&M

Alex Reynolds, Texas A&M

Lauren Schwirtlich, Texas A&M

Emily Bledsoe, Texas Tech

Logan Hall, Texas Tech

Mikey Kenney, Texas Tech