Jayhawks Place Six On Academic All-Big 12 Squads

May 17, 2011

IRVING, Texas –

Six Kansas baseball players have been honored by the Big 12 Conference with selection to the Academic All-Big 12 Baseball teams, which were announced Tuesday. Seniors Casey Lytle and T.J. Walz, junior Zac Elgie and sophomores Jake Marasco and Tanner Poppe were all selected to the first team, while junior Jordan Jakubov earned second team honors.

Lytle and Walz were first team selections for the third time in their careers, while Marasco earns first-team honors for the second consecutive season. Lytle was recently named Academic All-District by Capital One. The senior outfielder is also a candidate for Academic All-America honors, which will be announced at the end of May.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the baseball academic all-league squad consisted of 43 first team members combined with 26 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

The Jayhawks (26-27, 9-15 in Big 12) will face Sunflower Showdown rival Kansas State in a three-game series to conclude the regular season this weekend. The first game will be played in Manhattan, Kan., at 6:30 p.m. on Friday night before the series shifts to Lawrence for Saturday and Sunday matchups at 6 p.m. KU trails K-State by ½ game for the eighth and final spot in the Big 12 Baseball Championship.