WIBW-TV Topeka Joins Jayhawk IMG Television Network

May 24, 2011


CBS affiliate WIBW-TV has become Topeka’s affiliate on the Jayhawk IMG Television Network under a four-year agreement, Kansas Athletics announced Tuesday.

Under the terms of the new agreement between WIBW and Jayhawk IMG Sports Marketing, Kansas Athletics’ multimedia rights partner that manages Jayhawk TV, WIBW will carry all live Jayhawk IMG Television Network men’s basketball games. Last season, the Jayhawk IMG Network aired the eight games that were not shown on CBS, ESPN, Fox or the Big 12 Conference regional package.

WIBW will also air all football, men’s and women’s basketball coaches’ shows, football and men’s basketball pre- and post-season specials, and any other mutually agreed upon programming. Live women’s basketball games will air either on WIBW or an affiliate station.

WIBW will broadcast all Jayhawk IMG Television Network men’s basketball games in High Definition (HD) for the first time in Topeka. It will also mark the first time that women’s games produced by the Jayhawk IMG Sports Network will be broadcast live in Topeka.

In addition to the television agreement, WIBW has become a corporate sponsor with Jayhawk IMG Sports Marketing for the same term, creating a multi-dimensional strategic partner for Kansas Athletics.

“We are excited to announce WIBW as our new television and marketing partner in Topeka,” said Jason Booker, general manager of Jayhawk IMG Sports Marketing in Lawrence. “During our discussions, WIBW emphatically displayed its commitment and overall vision for working with Kansas Athletics. We look forward to working with the WIBW staff to enhance the Kansas Athletics brand in Topeka, while providing new opportunities to promote and market all of our programs on their station.”

WIBW had previously been a Jayhawk Television affiliate in an agreement that expired in 2006. “Kansas Athletics and WIBW have had a tradition together for years,” said Jim Ogle, general manager of WIBW. “I am excited that we are able to re-establish that tradition in this agreement.”

The new agreement will run through the 2014-15 academic year.