Jayhawks Tour White House, Meet President and Visit Supreme Court and Kansas Delegation on Day 2 in D.C.

Transcripts of Presidential Speech

June 3, 2008

<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Kansas’ men’s basketball national championship team began its final day in Washington D.C. with a tour of the White House before meeting President George W. Bush in a Rose Garden ceremony. The group then visited the United States Supreme Court and the Kansas U.S. delegation before returning to <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Lawrence.

“When Kansas fans come to the Rose Garden, they don’t come to admire the flowers. They come to wave the wheat,” President Bush told a group of approximately 300 Kansas fans including former senator Bob Dole, senators Pat Roberts and Sam Brownback and U.S. representatives Jerry Moran and former KU track and field great Jim Ryun. Rep. Dennis Moore was also at the White House ceremony, as was Colorado Rep. Doug Lamborn, who is a KU alum.

“I want to congratulate this team,” President Bush said. “You’ve brought new glory to one of our nation’s most storied basketball programs. And you gave your fans all across America one more reason to chant Rock Chalk Jayhawk.”

“I know you guys are excited about winning an incredibly tough tournament,” President Bush said. “Your fans are excited and I am excited to invite you to the Rose Garden. It’s a big deal, as far as I am concerned, to welcome KU to the Rose Garden.”

Following the ceremony, coaches, player’s families and staff toured the Oval Office with President Bush.

After signing autographs for the KU fans in the EastGarden of the White House, the group went to the Supreme Court where Chief Supreme Court Justice John Roberts and Justice Clarence Thomas addressed the group following lunch. The two justices also took the team to “the highest court in the land” on the top floor of the Supreme Court where a basketball court exists.

The day ended with a reception at the United States Senate office building. There all six Kansas U.S. legislators – Congresswoman Nancy Boyda and Congressmen Jerry Moran, Dennis Moore and Todd Tiahrt and Senators Sam Brownback and Pat Roberts – greeted the national champs, posed for photos and signed autographs.