Reesing Named To O'Brien Award Watch List

July 17, 2008

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing has been named to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Watch List it was announced on Thursday. The junior-to-be is one of 31 quarterbacks named to the list.

Last year Reesing earned his way on the O’Brien Award list as a write-in candidate. He was a semifinalist for the 2007 award, which eventually went to Tim Tebow of Florida.

Reesing, an All-Big 12 Second Team selection a year ago, established 21 school records while leading the Jayhawks to a 12-1 record and a final ranking of seventh. In 2007 he threw for 3,486 yards and 33 touchdowns, while hitting 61.9 percent of his attempts with just seven interceptions.

Earlier in this off season, Reesing was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O’Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24. This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O’Brien Watch List:

Todd Boeckman SR Ohio State

Sam Bradford SO Oklahoma

Tom Brandstater SR Fresno State

Hunter Cantwell SR Louisville

Rudy Carpenter SR Arizona State

Jimmy Clausen SO Notre Dame

Chase Clement SR Rice

Chase Daniel SR Missouri

Sean Glennon SR Virginia Tech

Matt Grothe JR South Florida

Max Hall JR BYU

Cullen Harper SR Clemson

Graham Harrell SR Texas Tech

Chase Holbrook SR New Mexico State

Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada SR Navy

Dan LeFevour JR Central Michigan

Jake Locker JR Washington

Colt McCoy JR Texas

Curtis Painter SR Purdue

Todd Reesing JR Kansas

Mark Sanchez JR USC

Riley Skinner JR Wake Forest

Rusty Smith JR Florida Atlantic

Matthew Stafford JR Georgia

Tim Tebow JR Florida
Mike Teel SR Rutgers

Willie Tuitama SR Arizona

Drew Weatherford SR Florida State

Pat White SR West Virginia
Juice Williams JR Illinois
John Parker Wilson SR Alabama