Two Kansas Soccer Players Help FC Indiana Win Two Titles, Achieve World Ranking

Aug. 9, 2005


University of Kansas soccer players Holly Gault and Caroline Smith helped FC Indiana win the Women’s Premier Soccer League championship and the Women’s Open Cup national championship the last two weekends. The duo led FC Indiana to an 18-1-0 overall record and 6-0-0 mark against WPSL opponents this summer. Both players were also named to the WPSL All-League Team.

As a team, FC Indiana was recently ranked No. 2 in the World by (rankings below). The ranking is the highest ever for the Goshen, Ind., based women’s soccer club.

“We are very pleased to be recognized in such way,” said FC Indiana’s Head Coach Shek Borkowski. “The players have worked hard for such great recognition. At this point, it will only spur our team on to continue to develop themselves and the team to even higher levels.”

In the WPSL championship match, FC Indiana upended the defending champions, California Storm, 4-3, in penalty kicks after the match was tied, 4-4, at the end of regulation. The Storm were led by United States Olympian Brandi Chastain. During the match, Smith and Gault both recorded assists and Smith scored Indiana’s fourth goal of the match.

A week after winning the WPSL championship, FC Indiana swept through the Women’s Open Cup in Frisco, Texas, to become the first club in North American women’s soccer history to capture the “league and cup double.”

Smith – KU’s all-time leading scorer – finished the season with 15 goals and 11 assists. The Edina, Minn., native appeared in all 19 matches for FC Indiana. Gault, a rising junior, was named the Most Valuable Defensive Player six times over the summer. The Spring Hill, Kan., native scored two goals and recorded five assists during the summer.

Defense, Mary McVeigh, Steel City Sparks
Defense, Holly Gault, FC Indiana
Defense, Karlyn Miselis, New England Mutiny
Defense, Maureen Whitney, California Storm
Midfield, Brittany Bock, FC Indiana
Midfield, Sissi, California Storm
Midfield, Leslie Osborne, California Storm
Midfield/Forward, Annie Lowry, Steel City Sparks
Midfield/Forward, Kerry Connors, New England Mutiny
Forward, Patricia Perez, FC Indiana
Forward, Caroline Smith, FC Indiana.

2005 WPSL National Champions
2005 Women’s Open Cup National Champions
Formed in 2000, FC Indiana is the only women’s soccer franchise in Indiana. In 2004 the club joined the Women’s Premier Soccer League ( The WPSL is an independent national soccer league with 21 teams in 12 states, including California, Utah, Colorado, Maryland, Michigan, Massachusetts, New York, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Texas, and Rhode Island.

1. FFC Turbine Potsdam, Germany
2. FC Indiana, USA
3. FFC Frankfurt, Germany
4. Djurgarden/Alvsjo, Sweden
5. Umea IK, Sweden
6. FCR 2001 Duisburg, Germany
7. New Jersey Wildcats, USA
8. California Storm, USA
9. Ottawa Fury, Canada
10. Washington Freedom, USA