Tennis Hands Out Postseason Awards

May 5, 2004

LAWRENCE, Kan. – The University of Kansas tennis team held its annual postseason awards banquet on Tuesday, May 4 at the Hereford House.

Players earned awards voted on by their teammates and coaches. Senior Courtney Steinbock took home team MVP honors for the second-straight year, while her sister, senior Kristen Steinbock was awarded Most Improved Player for her contributions to the everyday singles lineup. Sophomore Luiza Loureiro earned the Hardest Worker Award for the second-straight year and also won the Academic Achievement Award. Freshman Brittany Brown was given the Jayhawk Sportsmanship and Spirit Award for being the person who best represents Kansas tennis.

The three seniors — Emily Haylock, Courtney Steinbock and Kristen Steinbock — were then honored for their four years of hard work and dedication to the team.

“This has been a very special group,” head coach Amy Hall said. “I really enjoyed my first year as head coach and am looking forward to getting started next season.”

The tennis program will hold an overnight camp for boys and girls from June 6-10. Information may be found at or by contacting the Kansas tennis office.

Catherine Holland MVP
Courtney Steinbock

Kansas Tennis Sportsmanship and Spirit
Brittany Brown

Jayhawk Academic Achievement
Luiza Loureiro

Hawk Hard Worker
Luiza Loureiro

Coaches Most Improved
Kristen Steinbock