Eight Jayhawks Honored By Big 12

Oct. 28, 2009


Complete 2009 Academic All-Big 12 Cross Country Team Get Acrobat Reader

Eight members of the Kansas cross country team received Academic All-Big 12 recognition; it was announced Wednesday by the league office.

A total of five KU men were honored on the list of 65 total student-athletes, four of which made the first team and one on the second-team. Junior Dan Van Orsdel made this prestigious list for the second year in a row. Van Orsdel, a finance and supply chain management major from Minnetonka, Minn., was a first-team selection this year after being named to the second team in 2008.

Sophomores Austin Bussing (English), Kaleb Humphreys (Community Health) and Zach Zarda (Business) also received first-team honors, along with redshirt freshman Josh Baden (Computer Science).

Nick Caprario, an industrial design major from Kearney, Neb., was named to the second team for the second consecutive year.

On the list of 69 student-athletes, the KU women had two first-team selections and one second-team honoree.

Lauren Bonds, a political science major, earned her third Academic All-Big 12 First-Team honor. Bonds will graduate from KU in 2010 and plans to attend law school at Duke University starting next fall.

Rebeka Stowe, a secondary math education major from Olathe, Kan., was a first-team selection, while Amanda Miller, a business major from Overland Park, Kan., received second team honors.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the men’s and women’s cross country academic all-league squads include those who have maintained a 3.00 GPA (either cumulative or over each of the two previous semesters) and have participated in 60 percent of his/her team’s scheduled contests. First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and members of the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

Kansas will compete at the Big 12 Championships in Columbia, Mo. on Saturday, Oct. 31. The men’s 8K race begins at 10 a.m. CDT, followed by the women’s 6K at 11 a.m. CDT.