KU Assistant Young Among Finalists For Broyles Award

Nov. 27, 2007


Kansas Defensive Coordinator Bill Young has been named a finalist for the Broyles Award, which honors the top assistant coach in college football every year. The finalists were announced Tuesday by the Downtown Rotary Club in <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>Little Rock, Ark. <?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>

Young is one of five finalists for the award along with Auburn defensive coordinator Will Muschamp, Missouri offensive coordinator Dave Christensen, OhioState defensive coordinator Jim Heacock, and West Virginia offensive coordinator Calvin Magee.

The winner will be announced next Tuesday at the Broyles Award Banquet and Dinner in Little Rock. The winning coach will then travel to Orlando for the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 6.

Young, who has been at KU since the 2002 season, has quietly helped turn the Jayhawks’ defense into one of the best in the country.

The Jayhawks rank fourth in the NCAA in scoring defense (16.00), tied for seventh in rushing defense (91.42) and 14th in total defense (318.25). KU leads the Big 12 in each of those three categories, while also ranking second in pass defense at 226.83. That figure ranks 59th in the nation.

The KU defense has been an opportunistic group ranking fourth in the country in turnovers gained (32), while tying for fourth in the nation with 20 interceptions. KU has had 11 different players record the 20 interceptions.

Young also coaches the defensive line and three of his players have recorded interceptions this year with John Larson grabbing two and James McClinton and Russell Brorsen each getting one pick.

Three Kansas defensive players earned All-Big 12 First-Team honors under his tutelage this fall. McClinton, linebacker Joe Mortensen and cornerback Aqib Talib were all tabbed to the league’s list. McClinton was named the league’s top defensive lineman as well by the coaches.

Each NCAA Division I head coach has the opportunity to nominate one of his assistants for the Broyles Award. The Broyles Award panelists include nine former winners of the award. Current KU head coach Mark Mangino was the 2000 recipient of the award while he was serving as the offensive coordinator at Oklahoma.

Kansas (11-1) awaits its bowl selection, which will take place on Sunday.