Hill, Langs named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

IRVING, Texas — For the seventh-straight season, Kansas volleyball has multiple players on the Preseason All-Big 12 Team as senior Zoe Hill and sophomore Rachel Langs were recognized by the league coaches entering the 2019 season. It is the first Preseason All-Big 12 honor for both Hill and Langs. Langs earned All-Big 12 Freshman Team honors during the 2018 season, averaging 1.36 blocks per set to go along with 1.45 kills per set. The Texas native tallied a program-best 14 blocks against Oklahoma.

Hill is the second-highest returning point scorer for the Jayhawks in 2019, registering 2.61 points per set. The senior from San Antonio, Texas registered 16 matches with double-digit points and tallied a season-high 14 kills and 17.5 points against Arkansas last season.

The Big 12’s preseason awards are voted on by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Suter made a dig.
Suter made a dig.

Preseason Player of the Year:
Micaya White, Texas (OH, Jr., Frisco, Texas^)
Preseason Freshman of the Year:
Audrey Nalls, TCU (OH, Waxahachie, Texas)
Skylar Fields, Texas (OPP, Missouri City, Texas)

Yossiana Pressley, Baylor^* (OH 6-0 Jr. Cypress, Texas)
Shelly Stafford (Fanning), Baylor^* (MB 6-2 Sr. Cypress, Texas)
Eleanor Holthaus Iowa State (RS 6-1 So. Richmond, Minn.)
Zoe Hill, Kansas (MB 5-11 Sr. Houston, Texas)
Rachel Langs, Kansas& (MB 6-3 So. Fairview, Texas)
Gloria Mutiri, K-State^~& (OPP 6-2 So. Sand Springs, Okla.)
Keyton Kinley, Oklahoma* (DS/L 5-5 Jr. Lexington, Ky.)
Kylee McLaughlin, Oklahoma* (S 5-10 Jr. Carrollton, Texas)
élan McCall, TCU^*& (OH 6-0 So. Leander, Texas)
Brionne Butler, Texas^*& (MB 6-4 So. Kendleton, Texas)
Logan Eggleston, Texas^*& (OH 6-2 So. Brentwood, Texas)
Micaya White, Texas^* (OH 6-1 Sr. Frisco, Texas)
Emily Hill, Texas Tech~ (OH 6-1 Sr. Denton, Texas)
Brooke Kanas, Texas Tech^~& (OH/RS 6-2 So. New Braunfels, Texas)

^ – Unanimous Selection
* – 2018 All-Big 12 First Team honoree
~ – 2018 All-Big 12 Second Team honoree
& – 2018 All-Big 12 Rookie Team honoree